Life on the Farm | 5

in #homesteading7 years ago

It is Wednesday, September 20th I stare out of the window to examine the lush forest that's right behind the local construction that never seems to end. From my perspective, the pillowy green tops seem to go on for miles and miles almost like an optical illusion. What's so different about these views is the fact that fall is finally creeping up on us in the Appalachian Mountains and the green tops are turning incredible shades of orange, yellow, purple, and auburn.
Fodder Field.JPG
When we arrived to the farm we split up into groups of three to take care of the different tasks. Carley, Tristan, Evan, and I got the job of transplanting the lettuce for the seedling trays into the garden beds that the other teams weeded and prepared for us. This lettuce is a bit late for the season but it's being grown for the sole purpose of supplying fresh greens for an event that's taking place on the farm in the coming months. Fall is one of the most profitable seasons for farms and we rely heavily upon additional income through agritourism that the farm offers. We discussed potential issues with the current state of the farm and receiving the reaction that you want from the people that come out to the farm.
image4-1.JPG
Aside from having greens for the event, we also discussed that people participating in the agrotourism would much rather see a bed full of planted crops vs an empty one or one full of weeds. Agrotourism is something that every farm can incorporate and it can help bring additional income to your farm without adding to expenses.

There are many ways you can do this, at the SD Farm we are hosting an open house on September 30th to promote the farm to the local community and to show how we operate things. This is a great way to market your farm, products, and the vision of you have for your farm and what you stand for. Another way could be pick and cut christmas trees with hayrides, hot chocolate and wreath making. You pick strawberries, blackberries and blueberries are another popular agritourism avenue that many farms can incorporate for some extra summer profit, while also broadening your customer base for your farm. I am looking forward to learning more supplemental incomes that you can have on the farm and how our open house turns out.SD cows.jpg

Sort:  

Good work :)

I am so jealous, you get to be on a wonderful farm with so many possibilities for building/growing things, making it self-sustaining etc. The forest would make it feel amazing to live there and it looks like it too!

Hey man, thanks for your comment, your bio says it all, so interested in so many similar topics! the future is looking great for us!

You're welcome mate. It's good to have a variety of interests, helps keep your life interesting and you learning more and more. The future is looking great with the rapid progression of technology and just being able to feel like you are in a whole new world!

I am really enjoying your post of farm life and your descriptions. You make me want to be there. I grew up on a farm and it's the best life ever!

Thanks for this post! Growing up in the city makes me wonder if I could ever get used to living in a location where the land was so purposeful.

The sunflowers are way cool. Perhaps, cuttings for the farmer's market; or for stocking up on seeds during the colder months. They'd go $6 for 1/2 dozen in the grocery store. As I said I'm city born and raised ;+).

Again, thanks for sharing!

Best regards on the progress.

Peace.

hey spiritual matters thank you for dropping by! that is good advice!! I will be working on implementing that into my farm plan

Cool! Don't let me create more work for you; but, if you have time to show how to harvest the sunflower seeds, it would make an informative post for the community.

Peace.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 2.46 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @palmerjm1. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

My daughter opens her farm up to the community, much as you have. Me, I prefer more of my privacy, then again I'm not using my farm as a business. Your sunflowers sure were putting on a show. Nothing beats a roll or field of those. I'm in Southern KY and the leaves are starting to change here too. It's always a bitter sweet moment for me. I love the Fall but don't enjoy the Winter as much as I use to. Maybe I'm getting old, LOL.

I do enjoy my privacy, but like you said its just preference and sometimes one or the other can be more benefitial.

Great post. Thoughtful and informative. Following you now.

Thank for the follow and the kind words! I have followed you back!

This is great, i'm so jealous :)

Thank you vanessa! Would love to see what kind of work you could accomplish with this as the inspiration

I would love that too :)

Thanks to provide Great New and Useful Information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49