What love looks like around here

in #homesteading6 years ago

Love. Everyone one wants it, and everyone has a different idea of what it should look like. It takes on many faces as we move through life. At this point in our life love is hard work made easier by a strong partnership.

Around here, love looks like getting up first in a cold house to stoke the fire and put water on for coffee. It looks like biting your tongue and getting the job done because fighting wont get the garden beds ready or the wood in any faster. It looks like doing the chores alone because your partner worked in town today and wont be home til late.

There is a depth to our relationship that wasnt always there. As we grow and build our homestead, our relationship grows along with it. Love feels like, calloused hands and rubbing the knot out of a shoulder even though your shoulders are just as sore. It feels like climbing into bed with love on your mind and waking up the next morning in exactly the same spot you fell asleep in.

Love looks like excited eyes and big smiles because the last log got peeled, it also looks like long days at the river just because you can. It tastes like the first tomato of the season and takeout pizza and cold beer from the gas station because no one feels like cooking.

Homesteading is hard work, and we couldn't do it without the partnership that we have. When I look around our place, I see love in every project, and every growing idea. Thats what love looks like around here. At least for today!

Sort:  

This is beautiful! I can relate to a lot of it. All the mundane little things that strengthen a partnership and make life on a homestead function.

Beautifully worded. I'm so happy for you that you have that kind of love, and also that you recognize it and take time to appriciate it.

Thank you for the kind words .

WELCOME to steemit! Great to see new homesteaders and friends of @mountainjewel joining!

So completely true! Very well written. I'm also from the Ozarks so now I'm off to check out the rest of your blog and to hit that "Follow" button!

Thank you.So great to find fellow ozarkians around!

Aaaawh bless x Your words are truly beautiful.

Finding love in the details is inspired and inspirational.

I love it!

Please feel free to pop by mine; I am an artist/writer/lightworker and feel we are on adjacent pages. I would love your thoughts on my my recent offering: https://steemit.com/life/@ldacey-laforge/impatience-is-a-form-of-self-sabotage

I have followed and resteemed but am unable to upvote as on recharge - sorry :(

Happy Silly Season.

xox

Beautiful! I wanted to quote some and say that's us too! But I identified with every paragraph! Crazy!

So glad I found you guys from a post from @mountainjewel. We, my husband @freedompoint, and I are also in the Ozarks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99