Introducing our 1910 Home

in #homesteading7 years ago

Hi everyone

I would like to start sharing with you the progress on our home.
Two years ago we managed to get a little bit of land and a small old homestead, the builders report we received at the time of purchase was "knock it down".
But I'm always up for a challenge and I think hubby just went for the old saying "happy wife happy life" so we kept the old house and have started updating it.

before photo of house.png
Above is the our home when we brought it.

One of the reasons I'd like to share our progress is I'm good at starting jobs but not so good at finishing them so fingers crossed by letting everyone know what I'm up too I'll stay on task.

That's it for me now thank you for reading hope you all have a great day.

Sort:  

Good work keep doing ;)

Welcome to steemit!
I belong to a homesteader community.
Either sear h homesteadslackers or go to one of my posts and look at bottom for my signature. Click on link. Great group of people in slacker chat.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nightowl to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Thank you for the warm welcome, I look forward to meeting more people in the homesteader community.
upvoted and followed

Haha, I make posts to help with the accountability as well. Looking forward to seeing the progress.

We can hold each other accountable. lol
upvoted and followed

That is a wonderful introductory post and I can't wait to see the pictures as the renovations progress. :D Have an awesome day! :D

Thank you for your comment its amazing just how much one post can boost someones confidence. Looking forward to sharing more of the progress.

You're welcome. :D Have an awesome day! :D

There can be a lot of charm in an older house if it's structurally sound. The house I live in was built in 1902, and it's a nice old house. We actually back dated the parlor to give it the original Victorian look. All of the original woodwork is still in this house, and most of it is still in good condition.

I love the old charm sadly due to borer we have had to remove some of the old features. I will try and replace with more of the same.

I understand that, we had to rebuild the front porch on this house due to carpenter ants.

Congratulations @nightowl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It looks like a cute little home and some nice land it is on. Be good to see how it turns out once you do it up!

We are in a really cool spot I'll have to share our view on another post, great bit of land.

thank God for the house

Thanks for the great article! @nightowl

Very good nightowl. Welcome to steemit. There are some very nice people here with a lot of experience.

Thank you for the welcome, I look forward to learning from other people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60