Our brush piles

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I'm really enjoying our little homestead. It's fun setting it up as such, even being just a half acre. I really think we could do a lot here once we get going.

This year's garden was kinda hasty. As we are here, we're laying plans and starting to act on them more efficiently. This weekend we even have plans to pick up some chickens. (Be looking forward to a post on that later.)

Through our work here, we've created quite a brush collection, and I'm not sure what to do with it all yet.

IMG_20180717_202335686.jpg

This one has a big pine limb. It was the first tree trimming I made when we got here. The front pine had a big limb that blocked the view of the house. It doesn't have that limb anymore because I didn't research and find that I should have waited til the winter until after I had cut it. There's a bunch of oak in it too. Every time we get a wind storm we get more oak limbs for the piles.

IMG_20180717_202413433.jpg

This one is almost all mulberry with a small bit of oak drop. One big dead limb that i climbed up and cut down, as well as a bunch of small low branches that I pruned off. We only have the one mulberry tree.

IMG_20180717_202423791.jpg

The red oak pile. Similar to the mulberry tree, there was a pretty big limb on our red oak that was dead. So it and a few smaller branches came down too.

Three wood piles and no fireplace. I wonder what I could do with all of it. Bet it would be good for tomato plant support... But that's all I can think of and I don't have any tomato plants (yet) lol. Right now the birds love playing on it. I wonder if one limb would be good for the chickens!

Other than that, i have a lot of material and no clue how to use it. A celebratory fall bonfire isn't an option, and we don't have our nice fire pit yet, so there's no need for so much firewood. My imagination fails me because I'm new to the permaculture space. I'm somewhat leaning toward giving my son the smallest pile to give him some material to play like I had as a kid. Which leaves me a lot still.

I seem to remember a post or two from @elfmyselfandi and @brockolopolis from the setup if their food forest, so I'll have to go back and look. That'll be my starting point.

What say the professionals?

Stay relevant.

Nate

Sort:  

Congratulations @nateonsteemit! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Cut it and stack it for when you get a fire pit.

Should have mentioned that I've already got a good bit cut and stacked lol

Should have mentioned that
I've already got a good
Bit cut and stacked lol

                 - nateonsteemit


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56