You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quail When You Can't Have Chickens?

My wife and I have been getting ready to get some quail. I think it would be great. We, however, do have the ability to have chickens. I want to raise quail for meat, eggs, and raise many of them to release around our area for hunting. Nice quail and eggs. Keep it up!

Sort:  

Will you be raising Japanese quail do you think? I wonder what breeds are good for hunting. Our Bobwhites were better flyers than the Japanese and I've read that some prefer them for their white meat.

We have California quail wild on our property, along with pheasant, turkey, grouse, and occasionally we see chukar. We had a bad fire here two years ago, and the numbers on all but the turkeys have gone down significantly. Hoping to see the numbers grow across the board. I have considered buying a 100 or so of the pheasant and the quail, just to release them when they are old enough. The California quail are beautiful little birds, and quite tasty, so whether I am hunting or watching, they are a joy.

Also, I resteemed this post. I think there are many people in your situation that may like to read this.

Okay, thank you. I hope it is useful for some. I'd like to write up a more detailed one on what we've learnt in breeding and keeping them.

That's a shame about the fire. I wonder how the turkey came through so well. sounds like quite the place for game, especially if you can get their numbers back up. I love the look of the California quail. Probably the fanciest looking of them all. I wish I had the space to have a few more varieties here.

I'm not 100% sure on why the turkeys seemed to come out of it better. The fire was huge...I don't remember the size exactly but somewhere around 150,000-200,000 acres. The south west edge of the fire was my house. It burned here for over 2 weeks, and by the time the fire fighters where given the equipment to stop it on our end of the fire, it was already a few hundred yards behind our home. They brought in a dozer and cut a fire line from the top of the valley wall to the river, just west of my home. Almost everything east of the line burned, except my house and out buildings and my neighbors place. All that to say, I think the turkeys had moved out of the area long before the fire, whereas the smaller game birds where seen around here leading up to the day before the fire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76