Helped plant 300 "cordon fruit trees" today!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

What are cordon fruit trees? Well, I had no idea until this morning--but now that I know, I just might have to pocket that idea for the future!

07176578-8235-429A-AD56-D742AB2E7316.jpeg
Holes dug and trees distributed at each one--ready for us to plant! (all photos are mine)

Last Sunday at church, our blueberry farming neighbor asked us--well, I think he was mainly asking the Husband, but I was there too soooo--anyway, he said he would need help Saturday (today) to get 300 fruit trees planted, and would we be willing to join the crew for $15/hour?

The Husband: "Well, I'm planning on turkey hunting..."

Me: "I'LL DO IT!!"

Hey, I have to accumulate my mad money somehow, and the more sources, the better. Even more so now that @walkerland introduced me to Living Libations. Haha :)))

Having previously gotten permission from the neighbor to bring the kiddos along, off we went this morning to his property. I got there just in time to settle the kids with tablets and hear his explanation of how we'd be planting the trees: at 45 degree angles, and tying them to heavy wire running between the stakes all along each row. What?

6404D6EB-1AF3-4077-8C83-6DC886EF7461.jpeg
Tree shipping box = kid refuge from the sun


Cordon Fruit Trees

Cordon (as the method is called, and it seems to be more common in Europe than here) fruit trees enable a person to pack a whole lot more trees into a relatively small space--instead of spacing his dwarf fruit trees 10-12 feet apart, my neighbor was spacing them more like 3-4 feet apart. It's not just the 45 degree angle that allows that, though; the trees will have to be pruned a certain way in the late summer to ensure they stay compact, otherwise they'll just become leaning full-sized trees. Basically, thanks to the method of pruning (which is described in the articles linked below), the tree will remain more like a single stem with very short branches, instead of growing a canopy with more spreading branches. According to my neighbor, it will also bear fruit much sooner than a "regular" fruit tree, since it won't be busy growing tall and putting out full sized branches.

Angling the tree simply brings the top lower, and therefore makes all the fruit easily reachable--and considering our neighbor is developing this orchard to be a future you-pick farm, not having to deal with ladders and the liability thereof is going to be a huge bonus.

0055050C-06A9-4776-9F72-AC8F1AAF326A.jpeg

He's got a bunch of upright fruit trees as well (already planted), but growing 300 of his trees as cordons is also letting him pack in many more varieties of trees in the space available: pears, three kinds of apples, both sweet and tart cherries, peaches. I think he said plums, too. All in addition to the blueberries taking up the bulk of his main field. (To call his venture beyond ambitious is an understatement.)

Some more interesting reading on cordons:

https://www.growveg.com/guides/cordon-fruit-trees-how-to-get-the-best-harvest-from-a-small-garden/

https://www.ashridgetrees.co.uk/gardening-advice/fruit-tree-advice/growing-cordon-fruit-trees


I was the only woman there, and quite frankly, I didn't object when the neighbor paired up all the men to work together, one guy holding a tree firmly in place while the other raked the previously dug-out, heavy, muddy clay back into each hole and around the roots. Call me lazy but I was happy to be assigned the job of tying each tree in place on the supporting wire, using a rubbery thingie that I had to twist around the wire twice, then wrap each end around the tree and secure. I had to check the angle on each tree first (and ended up repositioning most of them!) and also ensure that the rubbery stuff was in between the tree and the wire, to cushion it.

2EFE5E59-A302-4CB5-B033-DC0C60B24DB6.jpeg
Looks are deceiving...

Does that sound easy? Ha!! my lower back is sore, my fingernails are sore, and my fingertips still feel like they're on fire. Ouch, that stuff really began to chafe after about 100 trees, and it wasn't easy to stretch! Gloves just got in the way, unfortunately. But it was the meticulous kind of work that I enjoy, and I could eavesdrop let the conversation flow around me as I bounced back and forth among the rows ;)

So now, my bank account has a little more padding and my neighbor has 300 more trees planted, with my help! It felt so good to be planting trees; the Arbor Day Foundation has quite a lengthy list of ways in which trees are good for both the environment and the living things in it, such as

  • removing pollution
  • providing oxygen
  • cleaning water
  • cooling the earth
  • providing habitat
  • relieving stress :)

All of which is fantastic for the Earth! In addition to those things, my neighbor is actually setting up this whole venture as a ministry (the Husband's mind is still boggled) rather than as a for-profit business...his vision is to create a place where families can come spend the day, hang out and have fun, picking fruit and berries that they can take home for affordable prices. So these trees will one day provide children with fresh local produce and (hopefully) happy memories of fun times in the countryside. That's got to be good for the world somehow!

70E1CD12-69FB-4DE9-AB19-F319E341A271.jpeg
Grow well, brave little trees!

That was my "new thing I learned today" and interesting new experience that did just a little bit to make the world a better place <3
#homesteadingchallenge
@kiaraantonoviche

P.S. And just to make you smile, I leave you...Clyde the miniature goat!
3C174D65-1BFB-4566-9EE1-7E11B18422A7.jpeg
:)

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

That's really neat! Lot of work, but it really seems worth it. Say hi to Clyde for us next time you can!

Oh I will. He's the friendliest of the neighbor's mini goats and sheep :)

Looks like a lot of work, but rewarding work. Never heard of that style of growing fruit trees. Interesting concept to keep them lower and force them to fruit sooner.

I had never heard of it before yesterday, either! My neighbor was having to explain it to all of us. It makes so much sense for a you-pick farm though.

It really does make sense for a you pick farm. Plus really any farm that wants a quicker return on investment from the sounds of it.

A nice subject I enjoyed reading Maybe I try this method of planting trees.

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Ok, so it’s the way you plant these trees that make them cordon, right? It’s not a special variety? I wonder how long a tree would last here, if I tried that, before the wind messed it all up? Lol Sounds like you had to work for that $15/hour pay! Beats working in an office for that same rate any day though!

It's the way you prune them in combination with the angled planting. I guess in Europe some folks will plant them that way to serve as a sort of fence (hence "cordon"), especially around gardens, because other folks can't accidentally wander through trees leaning like that. But they have to be pruned a certain way or they'll just grow into leaning regular fruit trees--those articles I linked describe how to do it. My neighbor bought dwarf varieties so they'd be even shorter, but I think you can do it with regular versions.

We get such terrible blustery days here, especially throughout the spring, and the wind always comes from the west, so I'm thinking (for us) using this method and leaning the trees toward the east might actually minimize wind damage. Less canopy to catch the wind, and less stress on the tree trying to stand upright against the force.

Wow! Very cool stuff!

I never heard of this method before, very interesting!

So any benefits from one adventure! More trees for the world, a learning opportunity, some exercise, a little pocket money and future fun for area families.... It seems to be a win-win...win-win-win! 😄

I agree! Winning all around!! :)

Go @mtnmeadowmomma!! A lot of the fruit farmers in this area do cordon planting. I just didn't know that's what it's called. The trees lifespan doesn't appear affected. It's wonderful that your neighbour is doing it as a ministry. Reminds me of the Boaz story of gleaning....

All of us were so "wut? Never heard of this!" and then I came home and looked it up and sure enough, everybody on the other side of the pond has been doing it forever :)))

Yes, I think he has that idea! I had originally asked him what he was going to charge to compete with the blueberry farm 5 miles down the road, and that's when he said he wasn't looking to profit, he wants families especially to be able to afford it.

Not sure about all fruit farmers on this side of the pond ;) but definitely our area. I'll take some photos. We kind of did it with our new fruit trees, cutting back to 3 branches, like a tripod

Matt and I really want to set up some orchards on our property. This tree planting method is intriguing to me! I will have to look deeper into it. -Aimee

Ps. Every time I see your adorable kiddos I scream TWINS in my head. LOL

Aww thanks! Just think, in a few years that will be you with the twin preschoolers helping you out around the homestead! :)))

I sure hope they'll be helping! Or at least as calm and well behaved as your candid photo. These babes are now motoring and keeping me on my toes at all times. Ha ha ha! -Aimee

Ohhhh boy!! I tip my hat to you for having the energy and ability to think straight for Steemit while your babies are this age. I sure didn't! 😄

Some days are better than others and right now I have lots of help. I am secretly terrified of when we move out to our acreage and I am on my own. I know I will survive but it will be a huge shift, that's for sure. -Aimee

Not going to lie, it will be 😂 BUT you can absolutely do it! We women are strong creatures!! I don't know if it's a "what doesn't kill you makes you stronger" effect, but I know two other twin moms with kids around the ages of mine, and both of them have always had help...and both of them could not believe I do things with mine by myself. When my kids were 2 I told one of those moms I was taking the kids to the state fair--alone--and she was floored and insisted her MIL help me. But we did fine! When you have help it's hard to imagine going to the grocery store by yourself...when you don't have help, well, you gotta eat so you haul babies to the grocery store and discover that you can do it. Don't get me wrong though, I'm not knocking having help because heaven knows I'd have LOVED it. I just simply had no choice so I made it work somehow (not saying it was always easy), so now it's second nature, and I actually love that sense of having overcome adversity and coming out stronger on the other side. You'll do that too ❤️

You're right, sometimes when you don't have a choice you find out just how capable you really are. I have ventured to the farmers market and to the grocery store by myself with the babies and survived. Plus, there are 2 days a week I am alone all day and I survive those moments too so I guess anything is possible. 😅 -Aimee

Yep, you'll do great :) I honestly think it teaches kids to be lower maintenance too, haha 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68