You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Helped plant 300 "cordon fruit trees" today!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Go @mtnmeadowmomma!! A lot of the fruit farmers in this area do cordon planting. I just didn't know that's what it's called. The trees lifespan doesn't appear affected. It's wonderful that your neighbour is doing it as a ministry. Reminds me of the Boaz story of gleaning....

Sort:  

All of us were so "wut? Never heard of this!" and then I came home and looked it up and sure enough, everybody on the other side of the pond has been doing it forever :)))

Yes, I think he has that idea! I had originally asked him what he was going to charge to compete with the blueberry farm 5 miles down the road, and that's when he said he wasn't looking to profit, he wants families especially to be able to afford it.

Not sure about all fruit farmers on this side of the pond ;) but definitely our area. I'll take some photos. We kind of did it with our new fruit trees, cutting back to 3 branches, like a tripod

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61