My Promo-Mentors writing challenge: Ever had a mouse chew your hair at night?

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

It was all my cat Teddy's fault.

Prologue
I'm not afraid of things like mice, snakes, lizards etc. I do very much object to being startled by any such creatures unexpectedly jumping out of hiding, however.

BFA88B7F-B89F-4C0E-A9B5-2DE856CA5C22.jpeg
source: Pixabay

My Mouse Tale
This particular incident happened last year when warm weather arrived here on our new (to us) homestead, and we began constantly hearing both mice and bats in the walls at night. We bought ultrasonic pest repellers which eventually cleared out the bats for good--but then we began finding dead mice in our bedroom. We wondered if the pest repellers were driving them out of the walls into the house. There was no question that Teddy was killing them, but "Where are they getting in?!" I fretted after finding one in the middle of our closet floor.

001FF56B-8FFB-4324-A2BA-CF3A5EF0E50C.jpeg

Teddy was going through his springtime twitterpated cat phase in which he slumbered all day long and partied all night long. He is a klutzy, most ungraceful fellow, one of those big cats that you can hear lumbering about; and his favorite thing to do in the wee hours was bring a cat toy in or near our bedroom and proceed to crash about with it. So when he woke me up one night, banging around the radiator under the window, I was as cross as anyone would be with a cat that had an entire house and attached garage to play in, yet chose to make unholy racket mere feet away at 1 AM.

"Get out of here! OUT!" I hissed as I lunged out of bed and pursued him across the room, flailing my arms. He galloped off and I grumbled my way back to bed.

About an hour later I jerked awake to tiny nibbling sounds. Within a fraction of a second my mind processed: nibbling sounds + movement on my hair = OMG MOUSE! that's what Teddy was playing with!! and I bolted upright, gasping "What on earth?!"

"Huuuh? Wha?" mumbled the Husband.

"There was a mouse chewing my hair!" I exclaimed in disbelief. "A MOUSE!"

"It probably was," the Husband murmured.

"Doesn't that bother you? Don't you want to find it!?" Outraged by his unconcerned response, I hopped out of bed, turned on the lamp and began peeping under the bed and nightstand.

"What are you going to do if you find it?" sleepily queried the Husband as I pulled the nightstand out from the wall, quivering with tension and trepidation that the mouse might leap out toward me.

"Probably scream and jump," I admitted.

"Exactly. Just come back to bed," he advised.

Unable to find the mouse, I did. Did I fall back asleep? Not for a long, long while! I laid there, straining to hear any mouse-like noises and overanalyzing every noise I did hear. I was certain the hair nibbling creature would return for more. This must have tired me enough to fall back asleep, because the next thing I knew, WHOMP!

Now it was the Husband sitting up. "It was chewing my hair now," he said. His attempt to flatten the mouse had failed, and another search proved futile. It was gone. Now it was 4 AM and we both decided to just get up.

B3A52809-282A-4327-BEB8-43546778AD91.jpeg

After coffee, I returned to our bedroom to make the bed. Teddy followed me, and lazily sat in the middle of the floor, watching me with sleepy eyes. "Hurry up and fix that so I can go to bed," he seemed to say.

"Fine cat you are. Where were you last night when the mouse was in my hair?" I reproached him, and picked up the Husband's pillow. Out popped the mouse! It ran in erratic circles on the bed as I recoiled in surprise.

Now that I could see the mouse, though, I quickly calmed down. "Teddy!" I exclaimed. "Look! A mouse! Here! Get it!" and I picked him up and plopped him onto the bed. That rotten cat gave me a baleful look that quite obviously said "Are you kidding? I'm too tired for this s***," deliberately turned his back on the tasty morsel, thumped onto the floor, and marched out.

The mouse was now perched between two rails on our headboard, whiskers twitching, big eyes wide. I moved and it began to run across the bed; so I grabbed a pillow and trapped it underneath. Now what? A couple minutes later the Husband walked in to find me awkwardly sprawled across the bed, holding down the pillow. "I caught the mouse!" I announced.

Within another minute the Husband had the mouse imprisoned between a Tupperware and a piece of cardboard. Upon my pleading for its life, on the grounds of its littleness and cuteness, he took it far away from the house and released it. And hopefully it stayed there to live happily ever after. The End.

7413AED8-0704-40DC-BC38-5F748CE065D5.jpeg

Epilogue
Just a few nights later, I stayed up late surfing the Internet in the living room. I heard the soft clunk of the cat door into the garage opening--immediately followed by a horrible shrill squeaking sound.

All along, that darn cat was catching mice in the garage and bringing them into our room to play with!

He fled across the house, his shiny new live squeaky toy in overdrive, as I frantically pursued him, scream-whispering "YOU BLASTED CAT! Get back here! NO!!" to no avail...straight under our bed he ran, and released the mouse. I glared at him and briefly debated revenge in the form of throwing him outside for the coyotes, but sanity prevailed and I went upstairs to sleep in the spare bedroom instead ;-)

Teddy despatched that mouse in the foyer; I found it the next day. And from that day on, my nighttime routine included putting Teddy and his food and water in the garage, and locking the cat door!

@futurethinker @promo-mentors

Sort:  

Oh my goodness! This is both hilarious and terrifying all at once! I'm sure you couldn't go back to sleep! Long ago we had a Maine Coon cat named Malcolm who also brought a mouse to us in our bed one night. I awoke hearing something running around under the sheets. I flew out of bed as the cat jumped off with the mouse. Not Fun! Darn those cats! lol Great story. I'm following you now!

Ok now a mouse under the sheets takes the cake!! OMG. Darn those cats is right! I'm glad you enjoyed the story! :)

I've heard that is the cats attempt at trying to teach you how to hunt. He probably thinks you're horrible at it and need more practice. My old cat used to leave headless mice and birds for us to "practice" with. I guess she thought we weren't even good enough for live practice.

I'm lol'ing at your last sentence! I never heard that theory before. Maybe Teddy was trying to convert us to a more exciting nocturnal life...and it explains why he walked off when I tried to get him to catch the mouse :)

i love this story! oh teddy, you little rascal =D that face deserves so many snorgles and kisses (not at 4am, though)

it reminds me of the time chad brought in a mouse one morning. he dropped it next to the sliding glass door, and it sprung to life! it raced around the living room and scared chad - he ended up running upstairs, and then sox had to chase it for a while before running away as well. like y'all, the mouse was captured and released. to what fate, i'll never know.

I think it's hilarious that the mouse popping to life scared Chad so that he ran away! Too funny!! I'm picturing him fleeing upstairs to escape from it :)

even funnier - he did this as an 18lb linebacker of a cat. such a beast when he was first adopted!

You're right, the visual of a huge 18 lb cat fleeing from a mouse is even funnier!!

I am not necessarily scared of mice, but I hate them and can't stand the idea of them jumping out at any moment. I realize they can't hurt me, but the thought of them touching me grosses me out. When we bought our farm house two years ago it probably could have been considered condemned. It was that bad. We spent time deciding whether or not to tear or down or restore it. We chose to restore it and after camping on the property for several months got the kitchen, bathroom, and one bedroom livable and moved in while we worked on there rest. Well, since most of the house was still in rough shape and the house had been vacant for two years we had mice issues. I will never forget one night when I was sleeping and a mouse ran across my face. I lost it! I couldn't sleep after that! We ended up buying metal bed frames that sit really high off the ground (which is excellent or storing totes underneath) to keep mice from getting into the bed and I've slept much better.

Oh my goodness, that would completely freak me out!! I had a cockroach do that to me one time in an old apartment...yuck! It's nearly impossible to sleep after experiencing that.

I'm impressed that you tackled restoring a condemnable-worthy farmhouse! How old is it? I love old farm houses. We have neighbors that have one on their property and they decided against restoring it because it's just a disaster. It's a shame because the building itself is really pretty.

My cover photo on my page is a pic of the outside of the house. You can't tell by the outside, but our house originally was a two-story log cabin moved to this location in 1864. We don't know where it was originally built. It was added onto in the late 1800s and turned into a "salt box style" house. At some point in time (we believe early 1900s - maybe 1920-ish?) a back part was added onto the house. The whole place was sided with asbestos shingles and then eventually to vinyl siding. That is why, from the outside you can't tell it was once a two story log home!

When we renovated we tore most everything out. Drywall, ceiling tiles, etc. We actually removed a portion of the back wall and flooring and rebuilt them as they were in disrepair. We brought the original log cabin down to the logs on the second floor (first floor had been covered with beautiful vintage beadboard at some point in time and I didn't have the heart to tear it down because it was beautiful). We considered restoring some of the logs upstairs, but after much research we realized we just couldn't do everything. House has turned out pretty nice overall. Still lots of projects to do, but we have the whole house functional now, which is the most important thing.

By the way, unless your names are Chip & Joanna Gaines, don't restore a farmhouse. It is such an ENORMOUS undertaking. And trying to homestead on top of that is, well, CRAZY. Ha ha ha ha!

Another interesting thing is that we found several partial pairs of shoes (circa 1920's or 1930's) in the walls behind the drywall in the log cabin portion. I kinda wonder what happened to the other half of the pairs of shoes? Was there a mischievous child hiding shoes in the wall during a renovation? Or did the child find a way to shove them behind the wall through a small hole? Who knows! But it was fun coming up with ideas on why those shoes were there!

One thing that felt sentimental to me as we were doing demo was that there were so many layers of wallpaper. On the walls and even on the ceilings. I think the most layers we counted in one area was 7! That's a lot of wallpaper! And you know each layer was saved for and meticulously picked out by whoever owned the home. I know how excited I get when I paint a room a new color. These homeowners were probably equally excited each time the wallpaper got replaced with the more modern wallpaper of the time. Made me a bit tearful thinking about all the thought and joy that went into picking out each layer of wallpaper as I carelessly scraped it away. We did take some pictures, of course, but it still felt sad scraping it off.

Wow, that was such interesting reading! I loved it! If the cabin was moved in 1864 I wonder when it was actually built...what a treasure!! How funny to find shoes behind the wall. Now I'm wondering how and why they got there, too! Were they kid's shoes or adult?

I can relate on the wallpaper thing in that my family briefly owned a 100-year old house when I was in 8th grade and my dad scraped all the old exterior paint off before painting it...I forget how many layers there were, but it was insane, and that house had been pretty much every color at some point in time.

It must be fun thinking back and speculating on who lived there and what happened to them along the way of enjoying life within those walls. Now you get to add another layer to that, just like the wallpaper :)

Yes, the cabin was moved in 1864. We are very close to several Civil War battlefields and camps (central Kentucky), so part of us wonders if it was moved due to a battle or something? Maybe a battle broke loose in their backyard and they couldn't stand the thought of living there anymore? Or maybe one side or the other commandeered their land and forced them to move? Who knows! It's exciting to think about, that's for sure! I plan to eventually do some research at our local historical society and try to figure it out.

There were adult and kids shoes in the wall. They were in really bad shape. We took a picture and tossed them.

If you piece together the history of the house, I hope you post about it :)

oh my gosh, what a great story lol! many chuckles over here. i cannot imagine a mouse chewing on my hair!! omg... your reaction is warranted. too funny about your lazy cat!

springtime twitterpated cat phase in which he slumbered all day long and partied all night long.

oh is that what that is? springtime!? well our cats our waking us up every day lately, jumping on our necks, etc! lol

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it! :) I swear that cat is a barometer for spring. He's the laziest lazy thing that ever lazied all winter long and gets so fat. Then the weather turns and BOING! Nocturnal romps rule!!

"the hair nibbling creature would return for more" hahaha omg I loved it. this was so funny and entertaining, your writing style is so catching, I seriously loved it.And that cat oh my! congrats!

I'm glad you loved the story, and thank you for the compliment! It's been awhile since I tried writing a more narrative type story, so it was fun to take this incident and humorously write it down :)

Ha, that's a hilariously told story. At least you got it out there... Well for a day or two at least :)

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it! I always did wonder if the little guy actually would trek uphill through the woods to regain the sanctuary of our garage...well, too bad for him if he did!

Cats eat grass to aid their digestion and to help them get rid of any fur in their stomachs.

A cat called Dusty has the known record for the most kittens. She had more than 420 kittens in her lifetime.

Thank you! I'm glad you think so :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44