You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Redneck Wine Making or Making Wine for the Rest of Us

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Great tutorial! Super into making home brews. Planted a vineyard out this year so wait a few years and make wine :D! My main reasons too are the nasty sulphites and whatever else they put in there! Oh yeah and cheaper :)!Homemade can be good- unless the phenols take over. Have had that happen a lot. Need to work on sanitization lol

Sort:  

My limited understanding of phenols is that there's a LOT of them and they mostly come from HOW the grapes are processed into juice. Since Welches takes care of that for me I don't know if it's a problem. The wine tastes pretty good but it's a table wine so I'm not too demanding of it!
If you press your own grapes it would be something you'd want to experiment with I'm sure.

What variety of grapes did you plant?

Not too demanding is a good trait to have! Our phenols were present perhaps on equipment the we brew with. We've used sugar and/or malt with various Herbs to create unique brews, but still end up with strange off taste. I think we'll go get some commercial sanitizer. Hydrogen peroxide and even bleach don't cut it.

We planted Norton and Chamborcin from a clean grape program offered through a local university.

I'll be interested in how things progress. Keep me posted plz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65189.35
ETH 3155.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60