Weekly Chicken Gazette Issue 16🐓

Welcome to this weeks version of mother2chicks "Fuss & Feathers" Weekly Chicken Gazette Issue #16. Barely made it in the nick of time for this weeks edition.

For you newbies to the "gazette" let me introduce you to the girls. Blanche, Sweetpea,The Professor, Brownie, Blue, Dot, Maryann, and Shelly.

IMG_3354.JPG

Some of you may remember that "Blue" injured her leg a couple weeks ago, she has made a nearly complete recovery. In her mind she is still a disabled chicken. She stands at the coop door looking longing up at me until I place her into the nest box where she has been in rehab for 2 weeks. She used to squak and flap around like I was taking her to the crock pot, but now she is just a Spoiled little bird!

IMG_3351.JPG

"Brownie" loves to sleep next to Blue in the nest box. When all the rest of the girls are still out foraging she quietly sneaks in early each evening to get her prime spot before her nemesis Shelly can jump in her box. They are way smarter then they look!

Homesteading is both an honest and humble way of living. It really makes you appreciate the things others take for granted each day. It's important to make the most of the experience and learn as much as possible to become good stewards of the land. There is value in growing your own vegetables and even raising chickens, it's a way of life that delivers sustainable outcomes and satisfaction.

IMG_3353.JPG

One of the best options for improving the soil are of course the chickens! Chickens perform a variety of functions including pest control, tilling the soil as they scratch around and they provide a great natural fertilizer in the form of their manure. Chicken manure is great for plants, it contains lots of nutrients most importantly nitrogen. I have used it in my mini worm farm as well, the cooled down version.

IMG_3356.JPG

Egg shells can be composted providing nutrients such as calcium to the soil. You could even crush them and add them to your vegetable garden. Good grief, they even sell for 12 to 15 dollars at pound online. Get your fresh egg shells right here! As many eggs as I drop that could be my next new business.

I clean the coop completely weekly. If there's lots of poo , and no I don't observe the shape or color, which I know will disappoint @hethur after a busy day of free ranging I get my special plastic rake and remove it. So while they play I work. I use sand in the floor of the coop, hay should not be used . It gets wet and can cause respiratory problems in chickens. It's stinky too! Of course hay is used in their nest boxes where they lay the eggs. It gets changed as needed.

IMG_3355.JPG

When we first got the chickens I used pine shavings, but in my opinion sand works much better. It is like cleaning a cat box just rake and scoop. Put the waste into the wheel barrow or composter. It needs to cool first for a few weeks. The girls get fresh water daily and I clean the container. It holds five quarts, chickens drink a lot of water. I fill the chicken feeder with layer feed mixing in calcium chips. Crushed granite chips helps with their digestion so I toss a handful in their coop and run.

Fast Facts
Chickens have 30 distinct vocalizations they use to communicate with each other. From coos and chatter to flat out boukks, particularly at roost time.

IMG_3352.JPG

Weekly Egg Count
Blue and Dot are still molting so 3 to 5 daily. I have had my doubts about 2 of the EEs laying at all lately. The best layers by far are the Leghorns.

Purchases this week
Meal worms, free hay from Reddick Brothers, Granite chips

This Weeks Recipe
Wait for it...... Chicken Enchiladas! Don't tell the girls!

1 and quarter pounds of chicken breast cut into thin strips
1 pkg of cream cheese 8 oz. cut into cubes
1 small can of green chiles old El Paso
1 package of flour or corn tortillas
2 cans of red or green enchilada sauce
Half a cup of shredded cheddar cheese

Set oven to 400 degrees

In a medium sized skillet cook chicken until throughly done
Stir in cream cheese cubes and green chiles.

Spoon ingredients above into tortilla fold and place in baking pan.
I always fill the whole pan.
Top with the enchilada sauce sprinkle cheddar cheese over top

Pop into oven and cook about 20 minutes.

Can't finish them all. Left overs are great heated up with a fried egg on top
for breakfast. Add a little fruit on the side. Tada!

Stay tuned to @mother2chicks for next weeks Issue #17

Sort:  

I never knew that chickens had their own vocabulary!! Great post. :)

They really do, they all sound different. They mutter and coo amongst each other and seem to actually recognize their place in the order.

Awesome post. I enjoy the gazette. I really need to get my darned coop finished but the work has been piling up on the homestead...sigh

I know the projects never end, some I like some not so much. Glad you like the Gazette and appreciate you commenting. Thank-you🐓

They are looking really well. Mine are at various stages of moult. They range from oven ready or moth eaten to pristine and fabulous :-)

I had no idea the molt lasted so long. My Wyandotte and Chochin haven't laid in quite some time. I miss the Brown and Green eggs. Oven Ready...LOL🐓

Great post about these beautiful chickens. I love the different colors of them and their names. We used to have chickens in El Salvador and we can't wait to go back there and do it again.
Thanks for sharing this post, love it.

Thank-you for reading and commenting. They are more like pets to me, I knew that would happen. I enjoy taking care of them and they amuse me. The fresh eggs are s bonus🐓
Hope you are able to get you some chickens soon.

Thank-you and I love your avatar. Nice🐓

Look at that sneaky cat in the first picture! Just one of the chickens, huh Barney? LOL

Glad you noticed the old cat Barney, he is sneaky and very smart. Thanks for stopping by🐓

I am disappointed! No chicken shit pics from you? And to think I was just about to ask!! Haha! I didn't get any this week so i don't know what I'm going to do yet. It has been to cold to go shit hunting!

Maybe next time! You're a hoot.🐓

Glad to hear Blue is on the mend, even if she's stalling for additional special favors.

This made me do a double take:

Crushed granite chips helps with their digestion so I toss a handful in their coop and run.

At first I thought you had to scamper away to avoid getting mobbed for the goodies. LOL! Then, I realized I had the wrong 'run' in mind. That three letter word has entirely too many meanings. ;~D

It does kind of read like that...add an s and it becomes frightening. 🐓

Nice account I would like chickens don't thin I have enough space at the moment though will just have to enjoy hearing about yours :)

Thank-you. I wanted chickens and much like you had to wait until the time and space appeared. 🐓

the memories. I had 2 beautiful cocks while growing up. I loved feeding them so much that I worked on a peculiar language they could understand. Whistling! Not just any kind of whistling, it was a phrase in a song. And anywhere they heard that, they'd run over. They weren't scared of me like Chickens normally would.
I named them Tic and Tac. Those boys put me through a lot. Lol.. Their droppings and all. It was fun having a chicken as a pet than just growing them for food, I got to understand every animal can be trained or tamed...
Sadly, Tic was captured/stolen... And Mom sold Tac for money...

Awesome post @mother2chicks.
I'm curious, why is the professor called "the professor"? 🐣

Gillian's Island. She is called the professor because she turns her head to the side and examines everything very carefully. They are great pets and as you discovered do speak a language of their own. I liken them to watching gold fish as they bring me great peace and make me laugh. Sorry about your roosters. Not ever kid gets an opportunity like that. 🐓🐓

Thanks dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60562.69
ETH 2903.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34