Weekly Chicken Gazette Issue #10🐓

Welcome to this weeks version of @mother2chicks "Fuss & Feathers" Weekly Chicken Gazette Issue #10. Most of you regular readers know the girls so I'll dispense with the introductions this week and get straight to the point.

IMG_2404.JPG
Blue is a sweet girl and is not molting...yet

It's going to be a single issue for this weeks Gazette...my chickens have begun their first Fall Molt!

IMG_1081.JPG
Ol Googley Eyes took over my body temporarily at the sight!(courtesy of Hallmark)

I was alarmed at first at the sight of feathers all over the coop floor, it seemed there were so many you could have stuffed a small pillow with them. Had something gotten into the coop and attacked the hens or was someone picking on another hen? I temporarily froze in place and panicked in my head.

IMG_2388.JPG
Feathers

IMG_2392.JPG
More feathers

Suddenly it occurred to me that with the shorter days and cooler temperatures it was time for the girls renew their feathers. I had read about "molting" in a book on chickens before the hens arrived last spring. Polly Preparation is my middle name after all. They were right on schedule! Losing feathers and regrowing them is called "molting" and it occurs yearly as the days get shorter during the fall.

IMG_2389.JPG

In retrospect I noticed a few feathers lying about earlier in the week and they had only been laying 4 eggs, then 2 and I assumed it was hurricane fatigue after "Irma" came through a week or so ago. But alas...the molt had begun!

IMG_2397.JPG
Broody Brownie is definately molting, so are the leghorns

Molting chickens stop laying eggs
They use this time to build up their reserves. Even though they are not laying, it's very important that chickens continue to have lots of good feed. They need alot of protein along with vitamins, minerals and amino acids to help their skin stay healthy allowing them to develop beautiful new feathers.

Tips during Molting

Keep their feeder full and let them eat whenever they want.

Give them "Save A Chick" powdered electrolytes in their water a few times a week.

IMG_2405.JPG

Limit their scratch or treats during molt so you don’t dilute the protein content causing them to fill up not wanting to eat the good stuff.

Molting and growing new feathers requires a lot of energy. Did you know feathers are 85% protein! Feeds should contain at least 16% protein or higher. Get a good layer feed.

Reduce stress as much as possible don't add new hens into the flock. Don't suddenly add a rooster! They molt too and can be aggressive or so I have heard.

Don't handle the hens during molt, it is painful for them and increases their stress level.

All chickens have different personalities and some will molt differently
Some lose a few feathers and grow them back in 3 to 4 weeks. Other chickens lose a lot of feathers and will take weeks to grow them back. They will look terrible during this time!

Important: Hens should act normally during their molt, but if they seem sick something else might be going on.

Chickens will lose feathers in a sequence
It can start at their heads and neck area progressing down their back. Then it can progress across the breast and thighs to their tail feathers. One of mine began molting from the fluffy butt area first. The new pinfeathers will grow back following the same sequence they were lost.

IMG_2393.JPG

All chickens go through the molt and it's just natures way of getting rid of the old and bringing in the new.

They will look pitiful and many of us newer homesteaders who raise chickens for fun or profit should be encouraged that nature is taking its course.

They will emerge more beautiful then ever before!

No recipe or shopping this week update this week, not many eggs either.

Stay tuned to @mother2chicks for next weeks Issue #11

IMG_1087.JPG
All text and images owned by @mother2chicks

Sort:  

I think i learned a thing or 2 !! LOL
Good Post...
Thanks

Thank you for having a looksie🐓

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I love this life it's really wonderful Wonderful photogrsphy.Excellent post.go ahead bro.best of luck.

Thanks for the information! Ours seem to be molting as well. No eggs and lots of feathers. Plus they are stressed because they hate their rooster. He will be leaving soon. I'm hoping that puts the girls in a better mood.

You're welcome, lots of feathers and no eggs what's a girl to do🐓

So glad the girls are doing well and the stray feathers are good news!

Naughty birds making a big mess in their coop. I bet they will look really pretty when the new feathers arrive. It's mostly Brownie and the 3 Leghorns.🐓

Can't wait to see them. Bet they'll be 'struttin' their stuff' in no time!

The cycle of life is wonderful. Love to the girls and you.

Thank you and I will tell the girls ❣️

Thanks for the electrolyte tip! Mine have not started molting but have been escaping every day! I've been so busy I've yet to find out through where but today I'll be checking and fixing that!
I think Googley has something to do w it!

You're most welcome! LOL not at all surprised at her shenanigans of late, she probably is the culprit!
I had a dream the other night that I drove to the seashore to meet you and the weird thing is it was during a bad storm. I kept getting lost and was driving a tiny car. I'm definately a SUV kinda gal.🐓

I keep dreaming about the seashore, walking on the shore, and it's always so crowded. Strange right?
Maybe we visited the shore at the same time, astral projection of sorts?

Perhaps we did. Sometimes old souls meet in other dimensions. I've always felt like I have been here before...some lesson I didn't learn. Not reincarnation, something else. I'm actually Christian, but a self taught one not raised in the church. It came to me later in life.❤️

Yes I feel that way too. I know I'm not new to this world, and I long for something I think I left in the past. I have few friends, you included, that I feel I've known from somewhere I just can't put my finger on it.

I learned a LOT about chickens when I read this yesterday. Sorry I couldn't comment then. I had no idea that molting was painful for them or that their laying reduces during their molting season. Thanks for some excellent chicken insights, @mother2chicks. I'll enjoy my eggs with more reverence knowing this about chickens now. 😊😊

Gotta say Kiligirl it was all news to us as well. We thought maybe a fox got in to the hen house . 🐓🐓

That must have been scary! Things they don't put in the chicken wrangler's handbook....😱😱

My girls molt twice a year! Personally, I think they're just lazy. Haha.

Lazy birds might go into the crock pot if they don't get busy. Kidding of course.

LOL

A lot of people do that once the hens stop laying for good. I believe it's around five or six years that they hit their chicken menopause. Haha. But my girls are going to live out their golden years, freeloaders or not. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47