Change Is Difficult...

It’s been a rough couple of days off, as I try to set things up for my retirement. For me it’s down right scary because the thought of not having a regular job is something new for me. Change doesn’t come easily for a lot of people and I am no exception.


E4C32974-D6A9-4277-8F2C-AFBC14D7029A.jpeg


There will be plenty to do, as I have plans to do more actual gardening, plus I am finishing up the little shed. I inherited and old rust bucket of a horse trailer. Vintage 1950’s. Started cleaning it out this past weekend. It had not been used since 1994. All of the tires are flat so we hooked it up to a tractor and dragged it over here to work on it. Right now I am just trying to slow down the rust. I will take me some time to bondo the holes and patch it up. Should look like an Airstream when It’s finished. In my dreams! I am hoping the frame is still solid, but won’t know until it is a bit more elevated. At worst it would make an excellent chicken coop for the girls. Lots of nooks and crannies for them to have nest boxes in.


AA8B7213-E1BE-43B9-A6A7-8716E12C8100.jpeg


Lots of nooks and crannies for them to have nest boxes in. Plus a place to store food and even a hideout for Barney the cat!

The garden needs constant attention, as we become more self sufficient each year. Not just vegetables, but also roses and herbs, plus installing more of a hedge to keep the passerby’s from seeing our whole yard.

Lots of eggs to deliver and new things to learn. I am hoping to try my hand at weaving which will be a lot of fun to learn. One of my favorite things is textiles of all kinds of fabric, so it should be a lot of fun. I have given up my pottery lessons as it is a long trip out to my teachers house, plus my hands just aren’t strong enough to manipulate the clay, at least into something that looks like a decent finished product.


FFBB1E03-460E-4B71-943D-148F6CED9689.jpeg


69157D3B-84EC-418D-89DA-9F2326058768.jpeg


So what is there to be scared about? Actually nothing. I just convinced myself there is already plenty to keep me busy in the future, and now I can relax and begin to look forward to the changes to come. Of course there is always Steemit!


D463E75E-E381-419A-A611-7F281EC03B9B.jpeg

Much Love @mother2chicks❤️🐓🐓

Sort:  

I retired 2 years ago this coming August and filled my days with gardening as you plan to, but I also begin volunteering and giving my time to others. However on Sunday I had a stroke and and was left paralyzed on my left side. I give thanks for my wife who's helping me negotiate this crisis I'm also very grateful for speech to text as I can continue posting and commenting. Good luck and have fun in your retirement I certainly plan to continue to do so.

So sorry to read about you having a stroke. I have lots of plans, and good intentions. Let’s just wait and see if they materialize. I know you need rest and thank goodness you can use your computer to vocalize what you want to say.....however, as one vet to another, you really have to start kicking butt now and get yourself back to fully operational! Thanks for stopping by. Hope I will see you again soon. 🐓🐓

Well, I took an early retirement a long time ago and all I can say is you are going to find that there aren't enough hours in the day to do everything you want or need to do! LOL I am busier now that when I was farming, worked full time and raised four sons! But being retired does have its perks. If you don't feel like doing something today, just move on and do something else. No problem!

That’s what I am saying to ceci. I do enjoy a good book and watching a good movie on a hot afternoon. Thanks always for your support. ❤️🐓🐓

Regardless to say, i used to be one person that's so afraid of changes such as this one. i recall when i had to leave home for college. it felt like i was gonna start building things over again, getting to meet and know new people again and all that. But most times, it turns out to be rather fine. I think where i'd always got the glitch was the thought of beginning anew or doing things differently from routine. However, growing up now, i have had to agree that change is one thing that is constant. Ironical, but true.

To retierment, dear.

Thank you for your wise words, the only thing that is constant is change. Always appreciate your comments when you stop by. Hope you are doing well. Got a feeling you stay pretty busy yourself. Happy day to you my friend. 🐓🐓

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

I am a stay-at-home mom with a very very part time job. Sometimes I feel busier than the hummingbirds at my feeder. I think we all dream of retirement as a way to relax and be idle for a while, but from what I've heard from everyone and seen in others, it doesn't sound idle at all!!! Congratulations on your retirement! Can't wait to see what naughtiness you'll get up to!

Also, that horse trailer looks just like the one my grandmother had. Brings back good memories. That's quite a project you have taken on! Good luck!

Idle is not in my vocabulary. That lovely horse trailer is something to behold isn’t it? Almost got all of the cobwebs and roaches out of it. We will see just what can be accomplished here. One day at a time. Thanks for popping in. I would like to take a dip in the jack forks river myself! Heard from @aunt-deb, she has had some problems with her medication. Alergies and has had a bit of a setback, but promises to be back ASAP.
🐓🐓

Oh I'm so glad you heard from her!!! I was really getting concerned she wasn't well. I hope she recovers quickly!!! Lots of love and good vibes her way.

Sounds like you could be self-employed rather than retired with all of the things you're planning to produce. You can sell veggies, eggs, textiles, etc. at a local farmers market or even online for non-perishable items. That'll keep you plenty busy if that's what you're worried about, haha. Otherwise, enjoy your retirement!

Thanks so much for the drive by. Appreciate your good wishes.🐓🐓

All the best to you enjoy an get the homestead producing live life like it should be lived 💯🐒

I sure hope you are right monkey man. Things over in your area are kind of crazy right now. What gives? We are supposed to be free nations. I hope there is a piece of land with your name on it. ❤️🐓🐓

There is nothing free about England right now (well more than some countries I must add). But that will change; the paradigm is changing and I am going to have an influence on it changing more I will make sure. Our government is very good a pulling the wool over peoples eyes. Slipping in sly laws here and there, but they are building up and thankfully the masses are getting pissed off, I just hope they are guided in the right direction of an agorist approach rather the the failed revolution one that often is talked about!
My land is there and when the time is right I will show its self. Hope your are well 💯🐒

I have never had a regular job and while it can get nerve-wracking, I always remind myself that I have survived this far and I will continue to do so. It is a big leap, but as long as you keep trying and adjust your strategies and expectations regularly, you will make that leap

Thank you for your kind words. Means a lot to me. 🐓🐓

Except for a few short-term, temporary jobs, I've been a full-time homemaker for 35 years, including 20 years of home schooling. I suppose I "retired" 8 years ago when the youngest child finished high school. My days are always full, there is always something to do, and I am never caught up on all the things I'd like to do. As we get older, everything takes longer to do, so we don't end up with as much time on our hands as we once anticipated! I'm sure you will have a great time as a retiree.

This has been the hardest job I have ever loved. It will be the people I miss most. There is a lot to look forward to. Wishing you a Happy Mother’s Day! 🐓🐓

Thank you, and same to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89