The clean up process starts.

in #homesteading6 years ago


A year ago I watched a community about 30 minutes from us flood really bad. I remember driving through the streets while working thinking how bad it all looked. The sum total of all the families belongings sitting on the side of the road for someone else to come pick up. It boggled my mind. The time spent to make the money to buy the stuff and then the real estate in the house it all occupied just to throw it out in the ditch..worthless, pointless! The disadvantages of living in one of the most prosperous nations in the world.... we have too much stuff!!


The Gypsy Bee and I thought it would be a good idea to let the boys be involved in the clean up process. Everything about hauling your belongings to the curb is traumatic, especially for the kiddos. We tried the best we could to prepare them and try to warn them but I was vastly unprepared to get them through this gently. There's nothing like a bit of sheet rock busting therapy though to get your pent up frustrations out...My oldest and I had a few therapy sessions to get us through! A tough week was ahead of us but was made a bit more bearable because of we had good friends helping us out with the whole ordeal. Our friends, the Hutslar's, spent the whole week with us. We definitely drew strength from them emotionally and spiritually. It also helped having two more sets of hands to get through all the muck!!

This was the staging area that we brought all the "keep" items. Did I mention before that I had a lot of canning jars?😐


The rub comes when you have to decide what to keep and what to toss. The whole process would have been much simpler and faster had I just hauled EVERYTHING to the road. My upbringing would not allow that to happen. We kept what we could salvage. CAST IRON...none of it in the water...KEEP Wine making supplies... Not in water...KEEP etc...


The first "NEW" guitar bought for me by my parents for graduation. This one hurt me to put by the road. The picture doesn't look like it suffered damage but it was coming apart all over the place. When I opened it up the first time it was full of water!



Its a wonder these three still love me after those few weeks. They were tired, I was a drill sergeant. I questioned my sanity more than a few times. At the end of most days we held "forgive me for what I said" sessions! We grew to understand all our frailties as a family and we learned on a deeper level how to forgive each other as a family! We had some rough patches and at times the subject of giving up was discussed. I'm not one to go on about my troubles, but this one tested me in ways I'm not sure I could survive again. My family pulled together and made me proud!

  • Getting through the flood
  • moving several times
  • losing most of our belongings
  • living in a small camper
  • not knowing what to do next... YHVH's peace that passes ALL understanding, what we call SHALOM, held us together!

    My red bearded friend @scotthutslar slogging away! When things get tough there is the temptation to disappear and muscle through it alone. The ones that won't let you disappear are the ones that worth having! I cant thank you enough @scotthutslar for your family being there for us and getting dirty with us. They gave us a place to live for a month while our house dried out! It was our haven, our peace and calm, our home away from home! The time our kiddos spent with yours was so helpful. To have smiling faces to hang out with took some of the sting out of the insecurity of their nomadic existence!

    I don't share all this with you to shed light on all our suffering or to get sympathy. The real story in all this is the comfort and support we received from all over the country. People we didn't know sending us well wishes and money to help us recover, rebuild, and live on! The many messages we still get that asks "Is there anything you need?" These are the monumental things that have gotten us through the darkest of days!

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

[![The STEEM Engine]()](https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@thesteemengine/introducing-the-steem-engine-initiative)
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 32 (1/31/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Wow, I know that had to be so hard on all of you! And your boys having to help haul their stuff to the trash pile. I'm sure that was rough on them. I'm glad you put this post together. I have been wondering how you guys were doing. It is amazing the amount of destruction caused by the flooding. So sad about your guitar, I'm sure that was difficult as well!!! It is so great how the country seems to have come together to help everyone out. I noticed that as well. Blessings to you and your family! (What a great friend you have there! I'll have to go check him out.)

Thank you for stopping by. Sorry its been so long. I have been burning it at both ends lately! So much story to tell. The struggle is making bite sized posts! This post took place way back in September.

I figured it was from a few months ago! Wow, hard to believe it has been that many months. Thanks for sharing the story!

Man I feel for you, I spend quite a few weekends pulling sheet rock and cabinets from friends houses who were also flooded during Harvey. They say what doesn't kill you makes you stronger, I think you are proving that saying to be true.
Take care and keep the faith,
@sultnpapper

You live close? Thanks for the kind words.

Houston area, Spring-Klein to be exact. Your in Vidor, right?

Yes! If I am ever in you neck, I'll give a shout out!

I am fortunate to have never had to deal with major flooding of this capacity. I think it must truly be a test of character to get through such an ordeal. The closest I have come, in terms of natural disasters, is bush fires. We get them often in Australia. I was once living in a place that had to get evacuated. The fires changed directions at the last minute, but it was close.

I was glad to read about the help you received, and the kindness shown by so many others.

I can’t imagine being in a wild fire. You don’t clean up after something like that!! You have to start from the ground up!!!

If a bush fire does hit then there is no possibility of restoring property. Like you say, one has to start from the ground up. I haven't been in one, just close to it. Wouldn't wish it upon anyone. Glad you're in a position to continue on. All the best.

@mnmlegerI'm so sorry that you and your family are going through this but thankfully for the support that you're receiving from your community. It's heartwarming to see how people come together in the toughest times.

The media has us all thinking we are divided but I have seen so much community lately!

Every time I read and update about this.. my heart just sinks.
WHat an awful mess!

Oh no! That’s not my intention. I hope that my family’s recovery can put a smile on your face!! YHVH has been with us every step of the way!!

Thanks for sharing your story. Lean on the Father and trust in Him through everything!

He is our strength!

AMEN TO THAT!

Great stuff, Bro. We love you guys and only did what we could. Can’t wait to finish the house with you’ll.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62722.59
ETH 3111.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84