You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Fungi are a Great Addition to Your Homestead

in #homesteading5 years ago

Love to see 'shrooms growing. Do you know of any that do well in a desert environment? I line in So. Nevada and most of the time it is to dry to even spit. I have started a Hugul mound using debris from dead trees, but even that is kind of slow going.
Liked your article, keep up the GREAT work..

Sort:  

I'm afraid I don't have any experience with fungi in desert areas. In general I would use thick mulch and for hugelkultur beds I would dig down and make at least half of the bed be below regular ground level by about 2 feet or so (or even deeper - I dug some beds that are 3 feet deep plus 1 foot above ground). If you are trying to grow mushrooms for eating then shady sheltered areas are going to work best. I would also try to retain as much water when it rains as possible using earthworks, mulch and plants for shade. Hope that helps!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry about the delay,,, @wildhomesteading, I don't think many people do have much experience with desert fungi.
For my hueggle mound I went down about a foot, then had to buy a new Matock. Much of the soil here is a clay that used to be called "Zeolite" and along with Vermiculite was used in potted plants. Anyway, sorry, I digress. One of my biggest concerns is, of course, water retention. I dig down anywhere from 5ft. down and line the bottom and lower sides with rock then fill back in the hole, creating artificial cisterns. We also live on Well Water so this helps there too. We've been here for about 2.5 years now and have gotten a wopping 3" of rain. Southern Nevada just across the hill from Death Valley.
Mostly trying to re-purpose the land here for Organic use but very much straw cultivation is prohibitive for the cleaning.
In about 2 more months I will get back to the mound I am trying to get setup. Hopefully the temp will be below 100f and I will get more than an hour a day to work.
Again, many thanks for the response and ideas for my mounding... Mitch, out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95