Flowering Bush Apple Plant (Atama) At My Mum's Backyard

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

LRM_EXPORT_20180407_141205.jpg

Botanical Name: Heinsia crinita
Common Name: Bush Apple
Local Name (Efik/Ibibio): Atama

Camera: Infinix Zero 5
Exposure time: 1/470
Aperture: f/2.0
ISO: 114
Format Shot: DNG
Edited in: Adobe Lightroom CC Android 3.3


It's always a therapeutic experience each time I visit my parents' abode. Unlike the city where I live, here there is less fume, less noise, less dependence on processed foods. This plant is in my mum's garden. It's leaf make one of the most well known dishes that is native to my people: Atama soup, also known as abak if it is prepared in a certain way.

When I take in the marvel of these food plants, I cannot help but wonder how my ancestors came to settle at they being edible. Were there lab rats? Did a strange spirit whisper to them what to eat or stay away from? Was it sheer instinct? Did their animals lead them to the food/medicine potentials of plants? Can we ever know for sure?

While I ponder on these things, and invite your discussion, I'll drop a few more pictures of this adorable flowering Atama from my mum's backyard. Enjoy 😉

LRM_EXPORT_20180407_141156.jpg


LRM_EXPORT_20180407_141207.jpg


LRM_EXPORT_20180407_141216.jpg


A little update on the hens/chicks from my Wonderment of Nature post...

After mummy hen lost yet another chick to the hawk, my mum decided to collect the chicks from her into the little house I built for them. They look really comfortable in there, don't they?

LRM_EXPORT_20180407_153117.jpg

And... their big sister is pregnant for her own babies. Just look at those lovely eggs.

LRM_EXPORT_20180407_153110.jpg

It's a calm weekend from my end, as you can see. I hope yours is as peaceful. Thanks for following my blog, despite that I've not exactly figured yet what I should dwell it upon 😉. For now it's the beauty of nature.

Love,
Ubokobong Akpan,
Nigeria

Sort:  

This is so nurturing and inspiring, your Mum must be so proud of you. Did you actually build that hen coop yourself?

Never had the pleasure of tasting Atama soup, would love to though.

So grateful you stopped by, Mosun 😍. Yeah, I built that myself. Did you miss the post about that? Here is it: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@misterakpan/just-when-i-thought-i-saved-the-world-i-realized-there-was-no-crisis-saturday-a-wonderment-treat-from-nature

As for Atama soup, you know you should come visit us in Akwa Ibom State already, don't you? 😉 We have the best soups in this country in case you are lost for a destination to settle at.

Dashing off to read that post. I would absolutely love to visit oo but you don't live there so that's a dream for now...lol

Can't believe you built that... Wow!

😊 I live in Uyo though 😉

I guess I should simply keep dreaming of the soup...and God might just make it happen someday grinning

Read the post and watched the video... I'm tripped!

😍 Thank you. I'm glad you love them.

Wow thats an exquisite flower.

Now I know you've farming experience from scratch, lemme ask the popular ever wondering question; "the egg and the hen, which came first please?"

I love the original natural serenity of the rural areas... It draws me closer and makes me appreciate nature more.... I've being pondering on several things even this too........

I cannot help but wonder how my ancestors came to settle at they being edible. Were there lab rats? Did a strange spirit whisper to them what to eat or stay away from? Was it sheer instinct? Did their animals lead them to the food/medicine potentials of plants? Can we ever know for sure

The only answer I could give to my inquisitive mind was instinct . I think it was instinct instill by nature to maintain the balance of life and protect the human race. When dealing with nature, there are so many unanswered questions,unsolved mysteries and deep secret that cannot be explained and this makes us to love nature and appreciate HIS handwork more.

Wowwww ! How I wish I can grow apples in Tropical countries like Malaysia as well! 🤣🤣I once planted a sprouted Apple seed , sadly it only survived for a couple of weeks 😞

I love birds! Will you let them hatch?

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 16:58:13
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54605.61
ETH 2303.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31