You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quail When You Can't Have Chickens?

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

There are different ways to dress quail. Because they are so small I think most people choose to just skin them removing the wings as they go. I personally choose to pluck them (just dry as the feathers come out fairly easily) because I like to try and make the best use of them. It is more long winded, but you get quicker with practice. The last little hair like feathers I singe off over a flame; they then just wash off.

Sort:  

Thanks for answering my question!
I think there is enough interest that you could do another post on quail and how to keep, care for and use them and their eggs.
I once saw an article on how a lady in a disadvantaged community started her own business with just a couple of Quail and ended up supplying supermarkets with quail eggs and meat. I'm considering looking into doing something like that. Maybe just starting with eggs at the farmer's market. I'm just concerned they would get blown away in the Cape Town wind :)

😂 Funny you should say that about the wind! We had quite a storm here one night and I was so worried for them as they don't like to use their shelter. Some of them were getting rolled around like little balls! I was amazed that they were all accounted for the following morning. Amazingly tough in some ways.

I wish you luck if you do go forward with your plan. Hope you are as successful as that lady.

Oh shame! Haha :)
Thank you. May your fluffballs also prosper! :)
I had a look at the municipal rules for poultry and my yard is too small. So will have to save that deam for a bigger house one day... Unless I can loophole it as a pet... Parrots live inside after all....Hmm.
Oh dear! :)

You could certainly keep some inside as pets. Then maybe let them outside in a little run in the day occasionally. We also have quail in the house as pets. One's called Cuddles; can you guess why?

So Cute :) I would have to see what my cats make of them. They could have a run around in a tunnel in the day ( to protect them from predators) and then sleep inside in a cage at night.
Does Cuddles come when you call him?

Cuddles isn't the brightest, but then no quail is, so no, she won't come to you if you call. However, she will peck you insistently on the leg if she wants to be picked up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44