You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overcoming the Drawbacks of Small Scale Urban Homesteading: Using Every Space

The raised beds have been great, especially as I keep changing my mind about where to have them! Unfortunately they can get SO hot in summer. Winter plantings always do well though. The garlic in that planter under the tree is looking to be my best crop yet.

Sort:  

Paint them white on the outside ;)

Even white things get hot to the touch in our sun! I tried covering them one year. The thing that works best seems to be overgrowth to shade the edges. Although something around them that also offers insulation could work.🤔 Thank you, you've got me thinking now. 😁

Yeah, shade was going to be my next call as well. Or a shade cover?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43