You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did You Know About this WEIRD FOAM? This Has Changed How to Sex My Male and Female Quail

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

The feather sexing can really catch you out can't it?! Sometimes the boys are obvious, but sometimes not. I have also found that in a natural daylight setting when it's out of season the males stop producing the foam, so I can't sex them over winter. Our quail are just cooking back into season now, so I need to put aside some time to sex them and take out the excess males.

Anyway, it's lovely to meet a fellow quail keeper. 😊

@originalworks

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @brimwoodfarm to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Lovely to meet you too @minismallholding. I hadn't thought of that but yes, out of breeding season I can see the foam would stop. Does the gland shrink at that time too? If not, might still work if you're used to looking at quail glands! LOL.

Quail are quickly becoming favourites of mine! I have some Chinese painted quail too, but thinking of expanding with a few more varieties.

Yes, the gland also shrinks. Even the feather colouring on the masks (for the ones you can feather sex) turns paler, although it's still visible.

They are adorable birds aren't they? We used to have Bobwhites and I'd still love to have them again if I had the room. Do you think you'd try the Californian with the little crests?

I went to a poultry show yesterday and one of the chap's selling specializing in quail had some bobwhites - looked amazing. He also had Californian - to be honest, I'd never gotten them before as I thought they were big! All the online pictures make them look at least twice the size of Japanese but they're little...so, in answer to your question, YES. I think I will!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67982.33
ETH 2624.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68