You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tiny Homestead Projects vol. 1 - Electricity

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Using power strips for all your electronics will allow you to flip one switch to turn everything off. Plus protection from a power surge! We are looking into getting an old wringer washing machine and putting in a clothesline. (I have tried this before but gave up because it rains so often, it might end up being a seasonal thing). If you use an AC making sure your filters are changed when they need to be will also save electricity! Probably all stuff you're already aware of but just in case!

Sort:  

Those are great suggestions. We used to have power strips, I will ask husband to dig those up for me.
We line dry all our clothes. We don't have a wringer washer, but we do have a wonderwasher which we could use in an emergency. It's time-consuming though, so, for now, we are using a communal laundry machine for our apartment block. I don't think we'll ever go off grid for laundry, but I love knowing that we can in a pinch.
Do you have a place you could hang the line indoors? My mother had a line next to our furnace.
We don't need AC in Denmark, but you got me thinking of a couple of other filters that need washing ;) Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43