2018 Homesteading Goal #4 Update

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

If you remember from our Homestead Goals 2018 post, goal #4 was edible landscaping. We wanted to at least put in the trees and bushes which included, blackberry, blueberry, raspberry, loganberry, goji berry, elderberry, pineapple and banana. We’ve had to adjust that a little bit. There was no way we were going to get all those bushes to fit in the front flower beds so the blackberries and blueberries are being moved to the side of the house. While we still want to plant them they are no longer part of our edible landscaping goal.

glencoe_Web.jpg
Source

It’s only January 8th and we have already made some progress on this goal! We have ordered 2 goji berry plants, 2 dwarf banana plants, 2 pineapple plants and 2 raspberry plants, all from Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Co. They won’t ship until March at the earliest but it feels nice to know that they are paid for. It’s progress!

Untitled.png
(we also got some luffa seeds and I'm very excited to see what the free varieties are this time!)

In order to plant in March we have to prepare the outside of the house. At the very least we will be painting it but we would also like to add new shutters and window boxes. Our house simply has no curb appeal. The outside is this horribly ugly 80s brick and someone decided green was the perfect color to compliment it.

We will be painting the brick gray and putting in cedar shutters and window boxes. The one porch post will also be clad in cedar once we cover the concrete porch with old Chicago brick. Right now though our focus is on getting the brick painted. I wanted to make sure this was completed before we planted in front. It will be much easier to paint without plants in the way. So far we have removed the old shutters and pressure washed the whole house. Next step will be caulking any seems, then priming the surface and finally paint. I can’t wait to show it off once we’re done!

Check Out Our Recent Articles:

What Happened with Iris’ 1st Clutch?
1st Babies on the Homestead: Ducklings!!!
The Homestead Sees Freezing Temps: It's SNOWING!!!!
Homesteading Goals 2018

Follow Us:
Facebook
Pinterest
Youtube
Instagram

DQmVqcRwTgh8SPRAAvw4XFqdJFQjv9gjkKbQwjHgMcUih8S_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I have taken the past 4 years to build an edible landscape for my property. If your planning on painting your exterior of your bricks on the house, and you have any questions, @canadianwoodguy has been in the painting business (his summer business) for over 35 years and is the best in our area. He specializes in exteriors and metal roofs. He paints all the Church Steeples in our area. He does not use a sprayer he uses the traditional scrap sand a brush then roll method.

That sounds like it would take forever! We were planning on going with a sprayer but I'll have to look into that other method

How cool! I would love to paint the outside of our huse which is also the 80s style brick... almost a pinkish color! Ew! I tried to plant a grape vine last year... apparently my doggy thought it was a great idea to gnaw on the vine so I never got any fruit from it. Maybe Ill try again this year! Good luck on your venture! :)

Thank you! Ours is a more brown brick? There's a pic a few months back on another post of ours. It's pretty hideous! We've had to fence off our established blueberry bush because they keep trying to eat it

Haha! We no longer have our pup anymore but now we have goats... If I do manage to get the grape vine started it will have to be in the front yard, nothing last long with the goats!

Oh loofah seeds... as in loofah sponge?

YES! We are hoping to use them to make our own bath and kitchen sponges. Also use some as gifts with other homemade bath products for next christmas

That has got to be the coolest! I know another homesteader had mentioned it (maybe @powellx5 ?) and I thought.., dang! Imagine growing those then adding to my homemade soap!

We plan on cutting them into disks and filling with soap as well. They're in the gourd family I believe so shouldn't be hard to grow! You should try it

Curious to know where you order your plants? Do you have someone local or are the shipped? Thanks @minighomestead!

This is our first time ordering plants and we ordered them from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds and they will be shipped to us in march. I would buy local plants but there aren't any nurseries with organically grown plants. While baker creek isn't certified they do use organic methods

Thank you! I'm guessing they have a web site. I'll check them out.

@hopfarmnc I'm not sure if you have ordered your plants yet but I have to say I was happy with the way ours arrived! I will be writing an update post on our edible landscaping soon

I've heard the best things about Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Company - I just placed an order for some essentials (carrots, beets, etc) but I definitely want to try them for some special plants that I haven't done yet.

they give free seeds when you spend a certain amount as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62