I BROKE MY TRUCK - Do You Ever Have One Of Those Days???

broke.jpg

A neighbor once told me that a good day is when nothing breaks. Today was not that day. Today was a very bad day. I had a phone meeting with a client scheduled for 3:00 in the afternoon and because of the good weather forcasted, I decided to head over with a neighbor and work on the Dozer (It's a Track Loader). The transmission pump needed to once again be removed and adjusted to get the hoses to fit.

truck1.jpg

We've been working with this thing forever and it seems like we were never going to get it running. So I headed off once again to see if I could get some work done on it.

But on the way there, just as we were getting close to my friend's house with the track loader, my truck started losing power. The truck died. It just wouldn't start.

Out here on these country roads, usually any passerby will stop and ask if you need help. Just as my neighbor and I started looking for the cause of the power failure, a local stopped with his truck and started to assist. We decided it was very likely a fuel pump.

My neighbor who was with me recently had to replace his fuel pump on his truck and recalled that it was quite a job. "You don't want to drop that tank", he said. "That's a pain in the butt. You want to pull the bed, but we'll need something to pull it up with, a tractor or something."

I remembered that Bob, (The owner of the house we were headed to) had a forklift. "That'll work" my neighbor said.

My father in law, Tim (@hans jurgen) had left for town this morning and I knew if I could catch him he could pick up the pump. Since I didn't have his number on my phone, I called home and left Jaimie all the information she needed about the truck so Tim could pick up the part at OReilly's. She got a hold of @hansjurgen and he was off to pick up the part.

Our job became to get the truck bed pulled off and lifted up to easily access the fuel pump. We unscrewed the 8 bolts underneath the truck holding on the bed. (Most of the nut and bolt sizes on this truck are metric which blows my mind).
Then Bob came around with his forklift and we used my chain to lift one side of the bed up slowly and put blocks underneath it.

truck5.jpg

With the truck lifted up on the drivers side exposing the fuel tank, we went to work on accessing the fuel pump and getting it removed.

truck6.jpg

Once inside we couldn't figure out how to get the ring off to pull the pump out of the tank. However, noticing that Bob's area has cell service (A luxury that most of the rural parts of my county does not have), I just googled an installation for a fuel pump on my exact model truck and found it! You can find anything on google. The instructions told us to bend a clip that was hold the ring on before we began to turn it. Found the clip. Lifted. Turned. Off. Easy peasy.

Next we detached the fuel lines going to the pump and pulled it out.

truck3.jpg

The old and new. @hansjurgen arrived from O'Reilly's with two pumps. There were two models for my truck. A single and a double plug. He had bought both just in case thinking we could simply return the unused pump later. The pump pulled from my truck ended up being the double plug connector.

truck4.jpg

But the plugs were still different on the new pump when compared to the plugs on the truck. The new pump included a wiring harness to splice in with your old truck plugs. I didn't have my wiring and splicing tools here but thankfully Bob had a splicer. So I went to working on putting the new harness on the truck.

Be careful not to drop any tools down that hole!

truck2.jpg

With the wiring done, the new pump slipped inside the tank and locked in place, the truck started right up no problem! YAY!

fixed.jpg

MY TRUCK BROKE (PART 2)

We still had to head to town and drop off the extra unused single plug fuel pump back at O'Reilly's and check at the hardware store for some bolts for the dozer(It's a track loader, Zac) . While I worked on the truck, my neighbor went to work on the dozer and pulled that pump part off. We made note of the part we needed in town along with some bolts and we were on our way.

No way was I going to make my meeting at 3pm. It was already 2:30. I texted my boss and let him know. He was cool with it.

After running our errands in town. We headed back to An American Homestead. Just over halfway there, a horrible grinding noise started coming from my truck. "What in the world?". We stopped on the side of the road and looked under the truck and saw that a u-joint on the drive-line was flinging some fluid on the underside of the truck bed, but not too bad. Maybe a u-joint seal going out. We also noticed the drive-line would move a bit if you tried to turn it. That's not good.

We started the truck and moved it forward. Nothing. No sound. After a bit more examination, we realized:

THE TRUCK WOULD NOT GO IN REVERSE!

MY TRANSMISSION WAS SHOT!

"A New Transmission" The words that no vehicle owner ever wants to hear. We can put a man on the moon but we can't make transmissions last the lifetime of the truck!

So today I will be looking for a Transmission shop. I like working on my truck but that is above my pay grade.

I hope you had a better day yesterday. See you on Sunday. There will be a NEW HEAD BULL IN TOWN!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com

JOIN US ON SOLA (TWITTER REPLACEMENT) FOR MORE HOMESTEAD CONTENT
sola.jpg
https://sola.ai/americanhomestead


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR !intro_panel_mini.png

Sort:  

oh boy, what a day! I'm glad your truck is at least going forward! Ask if the Transmission shop accepts crypto, that'll make it less painful! @ironshield

Spend my crypto!? Not yet! HODL!

Sorry man, I hate days like that. I just try and get thru it by reminding myself I live in paradise and I'd rather be outside fixing anything than be in an office.

Yep, so true!

Loading...

Sorry to hear it and though its no consolation to you I had as bad a series of days. My truck had a series of mishaps which are keeping me on the truck repair treadmill. Breakdown, tow, Alternator. Tires have a wear problem showing they were rotated by another mechanic even though the tie rod was bad at the time of initial servicing and completing the rotation would only do more damage. Three tires damaged beyond repair. New tires and front end alignment next. Then worry about the brakes grabbing. I could blame it's American manufacture, but it's 17 years old. And the funny thing is, I'll miss it when it's gone.

Yeah, mine is pushing 20 coming up. It's to be expected with trucks like these especially when they are being worked hard.

I was kinda thinking it about sounds like an average day here, but not really!

When the motor blew up in the wife's minivan I was feeling the same way. If it is not one thing it is another, you just have to keep the chin up and keep on going. Without tribulation, we would have no patience!

No worries. I'm not depressed about it. We'll get it fixed and be back rollin before you know it.

Agreed. There is ALWAYS something to fix at our place. I am always thankful for having neighbors that live close in case we need a ride into town.

Thanks for sharing your day @mericanhomestead. It makes me feel a little more sane to know that everyone has to deal with stuff breaking down on the regular. Take care and stay warm!

No problem and thanks for stopping by to comment!

LOL Sad to say this and not to be taken as anything, but fella if it was not for bad luck would you have any luck?
Sharing to show that Zac is getting it all done in spite of life happening!

THANKS! These things happen. They are just machines and they break.

It is real life fella, so yup it all happens.

My wife says that we as farmers/homesteaders are in the crisis management business. We just go from one crisis to the next. No matter what you have planned usually something else will come up that requires your attention. Sorry about your bad no good day. At least tonight is Shabbat and we get to rest.

I can't wait to sleep!

Sorry That This Is Happening TO You Brother.. This Stuff Happens Though. I'm Trying To Get My Family Of 8 Out On A Farmstead But It Has Been Proven Difficult Financially... Especially In North Dakota! Lol. How Did You Find A Good Farmstead? Could You Make A Post About It? It Would Help Out A Lot.. THANKS!

Thanks for showing everyday life on a homestead, yes I know you were not technically on the homestead! Either way thanks for showing a positive attitude and representing our God in a positive way. Shabbat Shalom to you and your family!

YIkes, sounds like the antithesis of a fun day. Sorry you went through this ordEal. All the possibleissues with machines encourages me to keep a distance. But they're just so helpful when they work. Got some front end work
I've been putting off on our 94 Toyota pickup. This inspired me to be proactive .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65