Building An Off Grid SMOKE HOUSE ~ Homestead COLD SMOKER 📷 [video inside]

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

THE HOMESTEAD SMOKEHOUSE


Building a smoke house was one of the priorities for our off grid homestead. Most homesteads in early America had some sort of a cold smoker for meat preservation. Most people take for granted that electricity and refrigeration is a pretty new concept.
60-70 years ago this new technology was out of reach for most people. Today, even the most low income households usually have refrigeration in western societies.

Before the age of electricity, and refrigeration, homesteads would butcher most animals in the fall and winter when temps would aid in the process. It's much easier to butcher when the temperature is lower as it aids in reduced spoilage and less insects like flys getting in the way.

WE DON'T COOK THE MEAT!

The meat would be salted according to whatever recipe was being followed and then placed for a certain amount of time in a cold smoker. This is different than a hot smoker which slow cooks the meat. In a cold smoker, the meat is never cooked. It's cured. The smoke aids in the preservation and curing process.

To date, we have used our cold smoker for curing Lamb, Venison and Salmon. We also use it to make smoked salts where salt is smoked for 72 hours and then put into jars and sold on our website in various wood flavors.

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


Smoke house building plans are available on our website for download.
https://anamericanhomestead.com/product/homestead-smoker-building-plans/


resteem.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


Sort:  

Amazing video @mericanhomestead!!!

You consistently demonstrate "technology" and skills that are becoming "Lost Arts".

You may very well be the Foxfire Book Series of the digital age.

Upvoted and resteemed.

I LOVE the Thought of that! THANKS!

Thank you for posting such awesome content.

If it wasn't your posts, I might not be motivated enough to finally document some of the things I've worked on.

I totally agree!!! We are all so blessed for the knowledge this family is willing to share with us. A couple of years ago my family and I were just dreaming about a homestead and now we have one. An American Homestead has been such an encouragement and place of inspiration for us.

I am so jealous of your lifestyle. Can someone please 🐬 or 🐳 me so I can get the hell off Long Island? Please!!! BTW UPVOTED and RESTEEMED! Great job and I hope you get rewarded flr your efforts...besides the smoked goods ✌️

LOL! Oh man I will pray you get out of NY.

I would be ok in NY it is just the fact that in a SHTF, grid down, scenario my AR's, ammo and six month food and water supply won't do me much good with the population here and the inability to get off the Island. The only way off and to the mountains is by Ferry or through New York City. Not ideal by any stretch 😩

Yeah, you need to get out of there. If you have the will, you will find a way!

Lots of boats on the Island. But then I will need to get an automobile on the other side. Ughh.

Zach- Thanks so much for making quality, informative and fun videos like this one. I am so glad you are bringing your vintage videos like this one over for the Steemit crowd, I think they are going to just love your channel and your family! Good luck in your new Steemit venture :)

Glad to be here! Very excited about the community here!

This is a great idea. A smoke house and learning how to use it properly seems like a thing that needs to be on my short list.

Our goal is to get one built here before hunting season!

You guys are always moving forward and getting things done. I will just line up all your posts when I get on my land. Check them off as I go.

I have a regular smoker but always wanted a cold smoker too. I wonder if I can retrofit my smoker to be a cold smoker too?

Great video

Hey! I followed you from youtube, and really enjiy your posts. In fact, i just made my first post on my smokehouse build. Thanks again!

Thanks!! Will check it out.

I love the idea!! I have one that I am building now using repurposed sheet metal just like what you used for the roofing. just like you I hate working in the heat so I am going to have to put off finishing until this fall. also I have a barrel stove kit that I use to heat up my house and I ABSOLUTELY love it. thanks for the great videos and check my site out as well. I have lots of video that I will be posting of living off grid and homesteading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38