A WORM Farm For YOUR CHICKENS! ~ GREAT HIGH PROTEIN Chicken FEED! 📷 [Video inside]

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

The Homestead Worm Farm



div.jpg

Chicken feed can become expensive! And then when you do the math, you find out that you're really not breaking even when it comes to your flock making eggs and meat. Making a meal worm farm is one way you can off-set the cost to this and at the same time provide a healthy all natural diet to your chickens they will LOVE.

Also, worms poop! Yep, they do! And that manure can be harvested as well. It's called frass. Insect frass is very nutrient dense and great for putting on your garden or sprinkling around your summer tomatoes. It would be a great addition to help grow your soil! Believe it or not, people pay a lot of money for insect frass in organic gardening stores!

The worms multiply very fast. To get started, all you need is a few meal worms. When a beetle hatches from its Pupa stage of life, it will lay anywhere from 100-500 eggs. It will only live about a week. That is some huge exponential growth in a short time after just a few generations! After about 2 months, you may have more worms than you know what to do with....but your chickens will know.

Are you looking for a business opportunity for your homestead? You could sell these farms to other homestead chicken growers.


div.jpg

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


resteem.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

SEE YOU NEXT TIME ON AN AMERICAN HOMESTEAD!

Sort:  

I had to read the narrative twice before I realized you were talking about mealworms vs earthworms. Fortunately both interest me as a protein supplement to chicken feed, but growing to scale is where I have been having difficulty. Thank you for putting the work into this.

Chickens are not vegetarians. They also eat worms, which are full of Omega3, and the eggs will also contain more of this fatty acid, that is very useful for us. In addition, the chicken feed available in the store is expensive and can be genetically engineered.

This is such a spot on posting to show there are just so many ways to offset the expense of feeding your flock and your garden benefits! Resteemit, upvote!

How does one go about starting this process? Do you have a link for a place to buy the worms/beetles? Thank you for uploading!

There are a number of places online that will sell them to you through the mail. Just google it and pick one. If you decide to build it, come back and post pictures!

thank you friend :)

Whaaa? Chickens are sweet little vegetarians that wouldn't hurt a fly.

Your gonna make someone cry letting them know that chickens would eat your children, if they had the chance.

I wish! I can't eat an egg without wondering what mix of things I don't want to know about is in the stuff I'm chewing.

Chicken : what's that on the ground? Yum.
Chicken : what's that on that plant? Yum.
Chicken : what's that that just came out of that other chicken's butt? Yum.
Chicken : hey, there's a mouse! Yum.
Chicken : didn't I eat this yesterday? Yum.

Point taken! I think I'll practice mental factoring of polynomials instead of thinking egg composition.

Really. I bought my son a worm farm as a kid, just for fun. Now going to give it serious thought as an adult. LOL

Great idea! Adding in some chickens or ducks is a future step for our homesteading experiment. I feel like starting with the meal worms may be a benefit to our garden now, with the added bonus of mealworms for our neighbors that raise chickens!!

Great info! Thank, I will put this into place once I get going. I like this idea. You have most likely said this before but where are you located? I am wondering about the hard cold in the winter. Do you have to start over or will they make it? Thanks,

Thank you for the information about the mealworms. It is a great reminder that chicken feed does have to be bought from a store. At the end of your posts I've seen the homesteaders of steemit and gardeners of steemit. These are awesome designs! Are these sold as patches/stickers?

I love farm fresh eggs so I'm all about doing whatever it takes to raise chickens the right way! Not that I have chickens, but I try to support local farmers whenever possible.
@mericanhomestead

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86