You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: steemit index of permanent posts : homesteading [v1 - 29 Jun ‘17]

in #homesteading7 years ago

I like the idea, but worry that this post, like the ones it is indexing, will also become dust. And, there is no way to modify posts if i understand correctly, so the post is immediately obsolete. Maybe an 'off steem' index (eg google doc, or ?)

Sort:  

Hi @mattlovell. You can actually edit the posts, but I will periodically repost as the list extends. I keep it in a spreadsheet so easy enough to maintain.

I think its a great idea. your posts can include a 'best new' section as well as an index of older posts :) I look forward to seeing them.

Hi @mattlovell. I have also started a 'Pick of the Week' post that will highlight the newer posts.

Here are last week's picks :

I will put out this weeks picks tonight or tomorrow.

you can edit posts but yeah, I don't think you can bring them back to the top of the feed that way, just make corrections. I suppose you just have to write new posts all the time, but I think if a community is forming, we will all end up compiling and sharing the best material produced. Plus the whole interface might evolve to address these issues over time.

Yes hopefully steemit will develop to a point where this sort of 'meta-curation' isn't necessary. But at present it doesn't work very well as any sort of reference source.

I guess it is a bit like when fb came out. Many of the features we take for granted now are part of many versions and revisions that were worked out overtime. I remember the agony of just trying to load a picture with bad internet onto frustrating sites. At least most of the interface is fairly easy to use, but it can and will become more user friendly as it evolves, here's hoping!

It says in the article that he is recording them in a spreadsheet so he can refer to them again

Yes indeed. You can never go wrong with a good spreadsheet 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88