Harvest Moon Time | Plantain Harvest With Precautionary Measures

image

In my previous post i talked about plantain with respect to how much you can manage it with animal manure or animal dunk. Today I Will be taken you through some procedures needed before you can harvest plantain fron its tree. It doesn't take much but some necessary measures or step must be taken.

PLANTAIN HISTORY

  • I planted this plantain myself when I was about to get the land for agricultural use. I was later lease the land for some couple of years with some agreement between me and the owner of the LAND. It took me some more courage to plant plantain because the land is not too fertile, it has sandy-loamy soil which is not too delicious fo plantain, the agricultural land must be much of loamy so as to retain some amount of water.

My courage was much stronger when I had to include some animals in the farm land as well, animls like rabbit, poultry birds among others. My aim and objectives is to use this animal waste otherwise known as dunk to improve the soil texture, soil structure as well which was very positive and possible for me with good results.

I planted the plantain for 8 months before its start to bringing out flower at all not to talk about fruiting stage, I knew it wasn't improved variety but I had to put something into the ground first. So, after the 8months it started fruiting and I was so happy that I have not labour in vain. So thereafter it started bringing out much fruits again. With too much water in it because we are now in the dry season, anything you plant much be watered heavily for good results. So this was done for one and half months which is 6weeks it fruit began to stay matured.

HARVESTING TIME

  • After it has gotten to the last stage of the maturity period I had to took some precautionary measures before harvesting it because I might damage it fruit if care is not taking..

image

These are some of the plantain steem which are bunched together in one place.

image

Also, the picture showed much about what I was saying

image
As you can all see the Bent position it was I had to summon up wise wisdom before I could make it down for harvesting ao as not to spoil other planted pepper and vegetables.

Step 1.

  • I used a very well sharp cutlass to wipe off the dried leaves around the plantain sucker so as to pave way for the new harvested fruits.

I used the cutlass to half-cut the plantain tree so as so pull the long steem in my own directive way.

image

  • Almost half done here.

image

  • Now already on the ground within a couple of minutes .

image

  • Now trying to prone the left over branches and leaves of the plantain.

image

  • Done 👍.

image

IN SUMMARY

  • planting platain is awesome but it need so much precautionary approach and measures to be taken otherwise it won't survive much fruiting stages unless planted on good fertile soil, application of manure and wetting.
Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

That's really interesting! Thanks for including so many pictures. My climate is way too cold to grow anything like that so it's neat to see. Congratulations on your successful harvest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83