Elderberry Tincture

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

A few days ago I posted a blog about the stuff I grow on my homestead, here: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@mamadini/some-of-the-stuff-i-grow-on-my-homestead-in-honor-of-the-equinox)

In the comments I got a request to share Elderberry tincture from @justamother so here it is.

I only have a handful of ripe berries to work with so the batch is really just to show the process as I will add more when other berries ripen. If you are not familiar with Grandmother Elder, you really should get to know her, she is a powerhouse healer and also is known for her famous Elderberry wine. One must be careful as the only edible parts on her are the RIPE berries and the flowers. I would like to go into the healing properties of Elderberry but I am going to let you do that research so that I am not liable as I am not a doctor, suffice it to say this is a tincture you want in your apothecary, it's long been used and is totally natural and available in many gardening zones (in the wood) which should appeal to everyone not just the survivalist, back to the land, and organic folks. Lets get started.

All you need are ripe elderberries, you know they are ripe when they turn black.
100 proof alchohol, I prefer vodka for all my tinctures.
A glass vessel for the tincture.
And time.

eb1.JPG

The photo below shows the unripe berries that will be tossed into the wilds of the yard as they are not good to use -- remember only black is edible.

An easy way to get the berries off is to put them in the freezer in a bag and then they just pop off (this is for making large batches) the stems, do not get any of the little stems into the tincture, take care with this process.

eb7.JPG

After you have sorted the ripe berries out deposit them into a glass container.
*A note of tincture containers; Amber glass is best, however, I am using this clear glass to show you the process, plus, it will be stored in a dark cabinet. The main thing to avoid is sun light as with most things that are fermenting, extracting, and other food and medicine preservation techniques.

eb3.JPG

100 proof is the best to use, yet, anything 80 proof and over will do -- in the back woods they use shine. ;)

The point of the higher alcohol content is purity. Making a tincture is about extracting the properties of the berries (in this case) into the liquid and the more pure the better, of course this keeps bad bacteria from forming.

eb6.JPG

Poor the alcohol just over the top of the berries and cap it. This is when you put it in a dark and temp stable place, like a low cabinet. The usual amount of time is six weeks to let it sit at which time you may remove the berries and it will stay good for years.

I am experienced and take it a step further into aged tinctures and such but that is another post.

eb5.JPG

You use this a teaspoon at a time when you start to feel a sickness setting in, the sooner the better. It's wonderful in hot water with other natural healers (the heat takes the alcohol effect away), such as yarrow and allheal, with some raw honey.
The tincture turns a gorgeous shade of purple when it is about at the six week mark.

eb4.JPG

Below is a little bit of an aged elderberry tincture, it is round three years now. Granted it's not as lovely as the young purple tincture but it serves a purpose.

eb8.JPG

Here is a photo of my little helper, she's part of the reason I have not been online as much (besides all the fall garden and kitchen stuff).

luci2.JPG

I hope you find this post of use. Learn about our natural healers that grow in the wood, they are ancient and here to help those that seek. <3

Sort:  

Thank you so much!

I'm glad you like it. :)

Oh I love this! I've always been timid to try, but you give sound advice, and I know without a doubt that you know what you're doing :D <3 Thanks for sharing!

It's truly a "good thing", hehehe.

<3

This is such an awesome post! I can't believe I missed it. I love your photography. And your otherworldly puppy! OMG! Beautiful!!! Does this lovely creature have a name yet?

<3 <3 <3

Thank you. I named her Luci and she is absolutely amazing! I picked her up on the equinox after waiting 8 months -- we were dream sharing before she was in the womb and then I knew the day she came out and called to find out if I was right, and I was. I love natures mixes. ;)

Wow, that is so amazing. What a connection! She came to you with the moon. I am so excited to watch her grow with you!

Me too. <3

I am so worn out, it's like having a human baby as I am so all about no messes as I want to set her up for success which requires me getting up every two hours in the night... ha.

It is like a baby, she is so luck to have someone who understands what it takes and it rising up to the your mother skills and love. Hang in there pretty tired mommy. I am so excited for you and your little moon eyed pup. you two are something else together.

You are such a dearheart -- here I am just getting to a post today and replies.Ugh.

I had a terrible loss here last night -- a raccoon got my last goose, my most favorite bird here, last night. ::tears:: She was three years old and like all the others I raised her in the house, in a clawfoot tub from eggs. She has a special story, one where I brought her back from death twice before, this time I could not save her as she was basically eaten when I got to her. The hurt in my heart...

Oh honey! That is heartbreaking! I wish I could sit with you, it is horrible to loose a fathered friend, especially to violent ends. I am so sorry. Raccoons are such bad predators they are thick out here.

I with I could hug you my dear sweet sister. I am so sorry for your loss.

Thank you so. :(

I cried hard and it's just not the same now. She always made such a bid deal when she would see or hear me, jumping around all excited. She had the sweetest ever so soft coo and vocalizations, I called it her inside voice, she never used it with the other birds.

I know you can totally understand these kinds of bonds. Thank you wild sister. <3

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mamadini to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Niish (mamadini at steemit) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thanks for sharing @mamadini .

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to both read and comment. :) <3

Maybe I should try making that with the elderberries in my yard!

Absolutely try it (just be mindful about only the ripe berries and no bits of the stems). Do you make other things with the berries or flowers, like jam or wine?

Sadly, I have just been leaving them for the birds, but I feel guilty about not making some jam. I should go and pick some now. The wine was very popular when I was growing up in Scotland. Everybody seemed to be making it.

The wine is sentimental to me as well (my Scottish Gran made it). ;)

I believe the birds and outdoor friends need their goodies too, so it's not a loss and there is always another year.

You are right. I don't grudge the birds their treats. They like to sit and munch on my figs too, but there are always plenty to spare!

That is always how I feel. There is usually enough of anything in my gardens for me, even the squirrels leave me enough nuts. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43