You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIE IS DEAD - WHAT WE LEARNED AND WHAT WE ARE DOING MOVING FORWARD

in #homesteading7 years ago

Poor chick. That's interesting that the rotten egg exploding would kill the live chick. Never thought of that. I'm glad to see Little Pepper taking things so philosophically, though: good job, Mom and Dad. And now you have two more little peepers and a plan for the future...so like all gardening and husbandry, dust off and try the next solution!

I think I'm going to head to the garden and try to save our peach tree that seems to be suddenly critically ill with fire blight. Honestly, it was fine a few days ago! Amazing how fast these things happen...

Sort:  

I think that it kind of got slimed and smothered.

Ew. What a way to go. Poor Steemie #1. I know when I raised a baby sparrow we had to be careful of her because if she'd gotten her new little feathers wet with some kind of oil she could get too cold and get hypothermic shock quickly. It was tricky because she had a wound on one wing that we'd been treating with triple-A ointment since she didn't have feathers when she fell from her nest, but once she had feathers we had to be super careful to just get the ointment right on the wound.

I'm loving it!

Impressive work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60073.81
ETH 2420.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45