Off Grid vs. On Grid: Should We Be Going Off Grid?

We have been debating for a while now about whether or not we want to give up the electrical grid and switch to off grid solar power?  It's a big decision and we admit we aren't as educated on solar as we would like to be.  We are asking YOU to give us your input and guidance on this subject.  

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

We have several options to consider about moving off grid.  We can go completely off grid and replace ALL electricity with solar power, we can try to reduce our electrical needs as much as possible and replace some of our electric with solar or we can just stay on grid like we currently are and continue to reduce our needs.  

In our preliminary research it seems like it would cost between $17,000 and $24,000 to make the switch to all solar.  

So should we make the switch?  What is your opinion on this subject?  If you are on grid why are you choosing to stay on gird?  If you are off grid, why have you chosen that?  

Sort:  
Loading...

Hey guys, great video! Solar power is something that I am really interested in reaching at some point, I would love to go off grid but I do not have the finances or resources at this point. But I'm looking into electricity free appliances that still keep the comfort of modern living. There are a lot of things I'd like to keep in my life as well... you mentioned a washing machine among others. I can't really help you with the solar power decision, I can give input on alternative methods of keeping these appliances! There are foot pedaled or hand crank washing machine pods that are making their appearance on the market: like http://www.yirego.com/product. Also sun ovens for cooking outside like https://www.sunoven.com. So even if you stay on grid but would like to reduce your electrical consumption, check out a few alternatives! I'll let you know if I find other cool products (and don't hesitate to let me know if you find any too)!

We are definitely considering a sun oven. I will check out the other link you sent as well. I really think we are headed more in the direction of staying on grid but reducing our need for electric in general as much as possible, whether it be solar electric or grid electric. Ideally, we will have on grid AND off grid versions of all necessities.

Great question, been thinking about this also, were city slickers, but are dreaming of going tiny, was wondering what other options are there than solar and propane gas - like bio-fuel or other options.

I'd love to go off-grid electric, but I'm just too much of a wimp and couldn't give up my air conditioning and fans and freezers, etc. To keep them, a solar/wind system would cost a fortune. Its right for some people in some situations.

You mentioned an out-building or two for brooders etc, maybe it would make sense to just give it a try for them with a smaller, cheaper solar system to give it a try? I just think for people who need lots of freezer space for livestock freezer camp and want to keep A/C, off-grid electric would be very costly to set up.

I'm kinda thinking the same things. We have a little guest cabin on our homestead and I was thinking about putting solar on that first to learn more about it and not spend a small fortune!

I don't know if there is a presence in your area, but Solar City provides solar panels free of charge the last time I checked. You would still pay electric bills, but I'm assuming at a lower cost. Solar in California is a lot cheaper than being on grid. Yeah, it's not something you would own outright, but at the same time you aren't paying a fortune to install.

I know we had solar city in AZ but haven't seen a presence here in Missouri. Will look more into it! Thanks for the suggestion.

It depends on why you are wanting to go off grid? If it is to save money, think again. Initial start up cost are horrible. If it is to be independent, how much is that worth to you? Living off-grid means sacrifices for most of us. You can take the word convenience out of your vocabulary. Yet I wouldn't trade it for the world.

I moved off grid five years ago and never have even considered looking back. You'll soon learn to greatly appreciate the "upgrades". I started out very basic, living in a tent while building my house. I still have no indoor plumbing and use a rain water catchment system to harvest all of mine and the animals water needs. I have a small solar system that powers my lights, computer and router for my satellite internet.

While I live fairly primitively, with more money, you can set up some fantastic systems. I guess my first and last questions are why do you want to live off grid? Your answer to that question will lead you to the how's and implementation of a plan.

I'm offgrid w/3x 100w panels and 2x125Ah batteries. And have a small backup generator that runs on propane. Overall cost around $1100. Works great for me! Currently no laundry or fridge though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48