You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Off Grid vs. On Grid: Should We Be Going Off Grid?

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, great video! Solar power is something that I am really interested in reaching at some point, I would love to go off grid but I do not have the finances or resources at this point. But I'm looking into electricity free appliances that still keep the comfort of modern living. There are a lot of things I'd like to keep in my life as well... you mentioned a washing machine among others. I can't really help you with the solar power decision, I can give input on alternative methods of keeping these appliances! There are foot pedaled or hand crank washing machine pods that are making their appearance on the market: like http://www.yirego.com/product. Also sun ovens for cooking outside like https://www.sunoven.com. So even if you stay on grid but would like to reduce your electrical consumption, check out a few alternatives! I'll let you know if I find other cool products (and don't hesitate to let me know if you find any too)!

Sort:  

We are definitely considering a sun oven. I will check out the other link you sent as well. I really think we are headed more in the direction of staying on grid but reducing our need for electric in general as much as possible, whether it be solar electric or grid electric. Ideally, we will have on grid AND off grid versions of all necessities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55336.50
ETH 2312.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33