Meal Worms A Significant Survival Food Source?

20170806_102827.jpg

I know it sounds gross, but a resourceful person examines everything in a survival situation. Preppers are prepping for just that. Survival.

As a soy replacement for your poultry food, it is a safer, free alternative. (And by free I mean making your poultry food a self sustaining part of your homestead, always the ultimate) A quick word on soy according to Mother Earth News, a site I hope you all know. To produce one pound of soy, it requires over 240 gallons of water, 17 square feet of land, and releases 0.86 pounds of CO2 into the atmosphere. Also 90 percent of soy grown in the U.S. Is genetically modified and needs large amounts of herbicides to sustain it, mostly fossil fuel based. To me this is unacceptably inefficient, and a very good example of a reason to be self reliant. Then we have control over the output of our own lives.

According to my freeze dried meal worm container, meal worms have 50 percent crude protein and 25 percent crude fat at the minimum. Also a 5.6 percent fiber content, that's really hard to beat. Combine that with garden clippings and kitchen scraps that could be the answer to your monthly feed bills.

But what about survival food for you? The thought of it may make you want to vomit now, but if you get into a pinch in a hard situation it could be the thing that makes a difference.

Growing your own meat is a big endeavor, one I have thought about a lot. But meat is not very sustainable for a small farm or urban homestead. Rabbits are a good choice, but where I'm living they can't be outside because of a illness in the area. But even rabbits don't have that much fat and live off of a apple and food scrapes every now and then. I could eat my quail, but they need to be incubated and I would need more indoor space for hatching and more electricity. Those are the two highest producers that I know for a urban homestead.

There are a lot of articles out there stating that meal worms are the future of sustainable protein and fat production for the world. On a micro level they should be commonplace for the prepper and homesteader. Even the urban homesteader can grow their own quail feed, and if its already growing it can be a good backup for shtf situation. People all over the world eat bugs, so some of you reading this wont think its a big deal. Eating meal worms. But for some of us it is culturally not accepted.

I understand the aversion. I was living in the woods for a month with two botanist and a group of four of us tagging along for the class. We lived off of a lot of wild edibles, as many as we could collect which accounted for much of our food. One of the group was always talking about bugs as a food source. I was given the chance to examine my own bug eating aversions, and came to the conclusion it was not a stigma that served me, or my quest to learn survival techniques. So we collected a bunch of grasshoppers (they were plaguing the area, the reason for the discussion in the first place) and roasted them over the fire (you must treat all of your bugs like pork, always cook thoroughly. Ants are the only exception, and can be eaten raw). Tasted remarkably like shrimp (when I got home I looked it up and found out that shrimp are grasshoppers close relative).

I ask you to challenge your first reaction when I proposed eating a bug. Maybe to look at my article on making a meal worm factory and give it a try. If you are into survival cook one up, decide what you think out of experience. What have you got to lose? In a real survival situation you don't want to have to try things for the first time while being stressed out. Its nice to know what your in for when your mind is trying to juggle a bunch of angles and just charge through. Survival is very dependent on a good mental state.

Thank you for reading. Here is a picture of a flower to get the taste of bug out of your mouth.

20170804_094037.jpg

If you like my blog please follow me, lets be friends! Hope your day finds you well, Big Love.

Sort:  

Love it! I actually breed them! so far I​ have not consumed​ them but they are cleaner than poultry that stand in poop all day!

So true! Thanks for reading! Nice job raising your own bird food.

If its to be truly sustainable then a better food source needs to be found

here in Indonesia that seems to be rice bran and the waste from making Tofu and tempe. the skins of the soybean

however id like to know what other non food items you can use to grow them
i see youre using oats in the photo which is a perfectly good animal and human food in its own right
ideally we would find something that isnt food, and turn it into food

That's a great reply, I will do some reading and thinking about that. Very good point about being truly sustainable. Thank you for the comment! I will be working on your question.

In Asia we use rice bran mixed with soy bean skins generated from making tofu and tempe. i am also seeking non soy additions to avoid the pesticides and the GMO soy issue. there are other legumes and high protein leaf meals that we may be able to grow onsite and use to boost the protein content of the rice bran.

Thanks - I needed that flower. Off in search of your mealworm growing post now. For my chicken, I hasten to add.

Your chickens will love you for it!

They're chicken... I don't kid myself, they love anyone who's carrying a bucket. Or a tin. Or a bowl. Or a bag. Or a cup. Sigh. You do realise we are nothing more or less than slaves to them, don't you?

Its so true, when we look at it we are our critters slaves. They still make me feel special in the process of being their servants.

I remember hearing about crickets as a food source from a Shark Tank pitch: Chapul

Apparently, their cricket flour protein bars contain more protein and 50% less fat than beef. Assuming they require roughly the same resources to "farm" as meal worms then I can see the economic incentive behind developing this kind of industry....
But between you and me, bugs are icky and I don't want to eat them :D

Icky is the undersatement of the day.

Iceland made some kind of cricket bar, I heard from my sister-in-law. We spent so much time looking for them on a sister trip. Maybe she saw it on shark tank. She likes that show. No judgement from me, bugs (mealworms especially) are gross.

Interesting post ! Eating insects (and disgust in the idea of eating insects) are just cultural. In many countries people eat insects for they are a great source of nutriments. In occidental countries, we are not use to this -yet-, but for sure, with the rising ecological costs of meat production, we have to adopt new habits. I would eagerly taste some insects if I have the occasion. Thanks, lifemovedbysteem !

Its a interesting dialog, and one work having. Thank you for your input @revolutionaction! Maybe you will have that chance in the future. Have a great day.

What a coincidence! I spent a good chunk of time researching yesterday on how to grow mealworms for my chickens. I am thinking about it - if I could raise enough of them and if I can do it in the basement....but I don't know about for me....I'll stick to eggs. :)

I'm sticking to the eggs for now as well, lol. I made a post about my meal worm farm making experience. It was really easy, mine are in the garage going crazy. Check it out. Let me know if you start a farm yourself. Always interested in peoples experiences. Thank you for reading! Have a great day.

Congratulations @lifemovedbysteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @lifemovedbysteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50