You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To: Homemade, Sustainable Seed Starting Medium (aka Potting Soil)

in #homesteading6 years ago

I enjoyed the article so thank you. Have you looking into worms for producing a large portion of you soil mix? I'm not sure where you are located so that will have a lot to do with it but we turn a large portion of our waste into quality castings. I do some composting on the side also but I get better production and quality from the worms not to mention they breed very quickly which gives me something to bring in an income. Just something I think you would appreciate for your garden. This is a picture of my finished castings.
26907159_1992569827675698_3205168085937085036_n.jpg

Sort:  

Brilliant @liberyworms! I have not made vermicompost for a while since I have been traveling farm to farm for 2 years.. so I don't have access to it right now. Also it was not at top of my mind and I am glad you brought it up because that would be AMAZING in any soil mix! It looks like you have an impressive operation going on there... thank you for sharing :) Also you are inspiring me to perhaps get back into vermicomposting in the near future ;)

Oh wow I have not got into enough of your articles to see you have been traveling farm to farm for 2 years. That would make it a little more difficult. How is moving from different farms seeing how different people do different things going? Sounds interesting. I will have to read the rests of your post when I get time. Looking forward to the next one!

Yeah it is really helpful to see different styles, perspectives, etc. It helps my brain see similiarities and differences in approaches and it gets me curious as to why. But the downside of traveling to different farms is it breaks up the season and I don't see specific projects through to the end of the year.. anyway I am a little more settled for this year at least and digging into my own garden now ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61023.73
ETH 2948.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51