Slow But Steady in the Scrap Garden - Weekly Update

Well some sprouts have tanked but others have taken off! I guess that’s how any garden goes so I shouldn’t complain (too much)! Let’s take a look!

My first avocado has new leaves!

My second avocado has yet to sprout. The replanting was rough so I am afraid it didn’t make it. I will give it another week or two before taking the pit out and replacing it.

My third and final avocado has rallied! After the first root turned brown and stopped growing, I was afraid I would have to give up on it. But lo and behold two new roots have started growing once again! I’ve been changing the water more frequently and I think that helped.

The calendula has seen 4 sprouts, 3 of which are still growing while the smallest withered away. I’m not sure why the others have yet to sprout but I will give them some more time.

The milkweed must have been a dud. Not a single sprout and it’s been weeks… I wonder if I did something wrong - gathered seeds too early, planted incorrectly, etc. Who knows! I’ll give it another week or two and go from there!

I have yet to start the other seeds - cross fingers I’ll stop procrastinating sometime this week!


Photos by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared/reposted with proper accreditation.

Join the HomesteadersOnline Discord community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Sort:  

And that is what gardening is all about. You have successes and challenges but when you can over come the challenges you win!

I finally got a pineapple top to take!
Keeping my fingers crossed for all your avocados.

You should add some lettuce to this! If you cut the end off the stock of the lettuce and place it in a small container with some water it'll start to regrow! it is really cool!

Next time I get some, I'll give it a go! :)

Sprouting avocados is fun! We had a couple small trees we grew from seed and they grew quite well until we planted them outside and our chickens promptly killed them... :(
Good luck! I hope no chickens kill yours! ;)

Lol no chickens, but the cold will sure kill mine! I'm keeping them inside as small trees because WI weather would annihilate them haha

Ah you finally got an avocado to grow! That's awesome!

So far 3 ;) I gave my first two away as gifts.

Hey the milkweed May just need some
More time :)! Those native seeds can take a few weeks to months to germ ;) <3

So it might not just be my black thumb lol! I'll give it more time :)

It would be a dream to be able and produce avocado's we love'em around here. Do you think it'll ever produce?

I doubt it, I've heard that seeds from grocery store produce don't grow for some reason. Also I live in WI and the weather would never permit an avocado to be grown outside so I have to keep them indoors and pruned fairly small! I wish though, I loves avocados too!

I love these updates! Go, little avocado, go! I think you're doing a great job! :)

Aww thanks! I never know if people actually like reading them or if they find them boring lol! :)

I don’t often eat avacados but I should grow an avacado pit for sure. Haha I love the little trees!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71