Growing into my Green Thumb - Scrap Garden Update

Quick update about my scrap garden -

We have TWO avocado pits sprouting. One is planted in compost and has grown approx. 4-5 inches tall! Today is the first day he has opened his leaves as well! Two other pits are planted in compost but I am still waiting for signs of sprouting from either.

The other is submerged in water using the traditional "toothpick method" and it has has an approx. 1" root! One more pit was just added to the mix in the last few days.

Two out of five (so far) is not half bad considering I've never had one even sprout before! Stay tuned to see if any more sprout and if the two growing continue to flourish!


Photography taken by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared / reposted with proper accreditation. 

Join the SteemitHomesteaders.Slack community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Sort:  

In our house we have grown all kinds of fruits from leftover seeds =]

Sweet! This is not my first time trying, but it is my first success :)

You know, I've heard and seen avocado seed growth pictures before but never saw anyone have success to your extent.

Great job!!!
Good luck... and i love the update posts!

Very nice! These are kind of weeds around here - lovable weeds that is! You see when the damaged avocadoes fall to the ground, my dogs love to eat them and play hide the secret treasure!

I can always find their secrets though because a few months later I find several avocado sprouts in a clump ;p

Congratulations on those cute sprouts! I hope they grow into big tall avocado trees for you :)

Pretty amazing, I'm also trying this out you can check my progress if you like. Thanks for sharing this and I really hope the best for your avocado plants @OriginalWorks

Just checked it out and upvoted! Pretty cool!

Thank you very much :D

This is really cool! Are they they Hass avocados, or some other kind?

No idea lol just impulsively picked them up at the grocery store and saved the pit when we finished eating it!

I have a tiny lemon tree that was grown from seed.

Do you know if an avocado plant will ever produce in your climate?

looking good!
happy day
melissa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42