You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Survival Food Series #8 : Eat the Weed(s), Flowers and Roots! What You Can Eat From Your Own Backyard!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Hello - thanks for the interesting post -where are you actually based?? (quite useful information to include in any post about plants btw), various species of Xanthosoma occurs here in Rio de Janeiro State Brazil in abundance, is known commonly as taioba and is eaten traditionally, the tuber and the leaves (although not in all species). But I presume you're in the US? Which is pretty interesting to know that you have it there. Are you guys growing it on purpose as an ornamental? Or is it a variety that is native/naturalised to the States?

By the way, I am tagging you in the foragingscavengerhunt1 steemitgame being run by @haphazard-hstead of the @foraging-trail (#FSH1-11).

Sort:  

Thank you so much, I am new and need all of the help with steeemit I can get. We live in Florida, U.S and am soon to be an expat to Ecuador. Ours we actually planted from corm from grocery store so not sure of answer to some of your questions. We planted it as a specimen and it did great. We do have many varieties of what most people here would consider "elephant ears". Our idea was to plant things that in a crisis others would overlook. we have 2 acres at our home and 20 a few miles away with cattle. You made my day by giving me another way to post and by reading this one! I have so much information in my brain to write about, just not enough time yet to get it out there. My husband and I have an organic cooperative as well I will be posting about. We have been homesteading for probably 14 years. Many stories to draw from....Thank you so much!
Love and Peace,
Melissa

Now that is very interesting! You planted it because you thought in a crisis other people would overlook it?? Ha! And also you got it from the grocery store? Is it common to find it for sale or was it a sort of specialty ethnic shop with lots of weird stuff that no-one knows what it is? (errrr, sorry to people who run ethnic food stores but that's kinda how it is!)

Pretty cool that you are heading to Ecuador! I'm sure it'll be amazing. I look forward to hearing more about all of your experience with homesteading and alternative food networks.

Steem on - peace out

PS: re steemit, just post about things you enjoy - or read posts that are interesting and leaves comments and start chats (I mostly do this last cos I don't have much time at the moment for writing blogs). Well that's what I think anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60500.53
ETH 2341.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53