You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Forage to Ensure Food for Next Year

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I love the way all your posts get framed in the context of preparing for zombie invasion in a complete dead-pan way. He he he. Great post.

I think one aspect of sustainable foraging which is important but quite hard to encapsulate within a tick-list format, is the importance of considering the biology and life-cycle of each plant. Some plants thrive from a good aggressive harvesting, some might be more sensitive than others, some you might need to be left alone at certain times of year, for example when they are putting energy into seeds for future production. It might be important to use specific harvesting techniques, specific types of cuts, pollarding, coppicing, pruning, etc. Ultimately there are no general rule-of-thumbs that will be 100% satisfactory for all species.

If you are not familiar with it already, you might be interested to check out the foragers association website, they are relatively new.

Sort:  

Thank you. I live not far from where The Walking Dead is filmed. One of the long stretches of road you see them walking down so often is literally the street my brother lives on. They tend to put up the road blocks just past his mailbox. So we are all be fans and it seem much less threatening than talking about bombs, asteroids and terrorist attacks.

You are 100% correct about everything you said. I hope to cover at least some of that in the articles on individual plants. Those articles take a lot longer to write because I triple check facts before posting them.

I also want to thank you for speaking up on these things. There is far too much information for any one person to get it all written down. You also have a way with words I don't have. You are still young enough all the science behind things is still in your head. I'm just an old hippie farm girl, with a very laid back southern drawl in my voice and my writing, lol.

Oh my gosh, I love the walking dead! Have you ever got to be a zombie extra?!

Just to clarify the above wasn't intended as a criticism, more like a footnote! I enjoy your hippy farm girl southern drawl :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68745.77
ETH 3744.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76