You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finally Getting My Seeds Started Indoors

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

So exciting picking seeds! Ground cherries grow very fast, I would say even faster than tomato seedlings. Starting them in a month is fine, onions you want to get going now! They have a long time from seed to maturity. Groundcherries are also really prolific, they self seed so put them somewhere in your garden that you can control them haha!!
I am also itching for spring!! Bring it on:)

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips! Like I mentioned some of these plants I have never grown before, so any hints are greatly appreciated. I have had these seeds for a couple of months and been wanting to plant for so long!! I am glad I got a chance to finally start.

So the ground cherries are a perennial? I have read that some are and others didn't say. That's also really good to know that they will take off now, so I can plan for that and won't worry about having a whole garden full of ground cherries :)

Another question is did you like them and what did they taste like? I have heard from some that they taste kind of like a pineapple. Thanks

They are perennial in the way that the cherries themselves (that fall into your garden, as it is unavoidable) are excellent at germinating after the winter and are fast growers. They will re-seed! They have a weird sweetish pineapple/melon taste....but not too sweet. Texture like a tomato....funky little things. They store for a long time in their wrappers just like tomatillos.

Any questions ever, ask away!! I love me some plant talk <3 <3 <3

Okay thanks! I that's what some have been telling me that it has a pineapple/melon taste and I have read it can be good for things like pies and I figured why not. I will probably have more questions down the road, but for right now I can't think of any more. Thanks again for your help :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53