My First DIY Compost.

in #homesteading5 years ago

Do you have a lot of kitchens wasted every day? You can actually put them into a well-used.

I heard of compost quite a while ago, and have gone on Youtube to see how others make their own DIY from scratch. Before this, we don't really have a lot of kitchens wasted but since we started to consume a lot of fresh food, mainly veggies and fruits, it seems like a waste to just throw the kitchens wasted away.

Compost02.jpg

Compost03.jpg

Compost04.jpg

Compost05.jpg

I have the habit of collecting eggshells and used coffee powder for my garden. So now I can mix them into the wasted to make it more fertilised.

I also like to recycle at home, by separating the plastics, cans, boxes and so on... I took one of the plastic containers that used to keep the lettuces, which was quite big. I cut off the top layer only to make a hole, so the container can still remain higher for more space.

Now we put them all together into the plastic container, crushed all the dried eggshells, mixed in the dried coffee powder too. Oh, I did put in some fish bones at the bottom, coincidently I had some that day. Fishbone is good for fertilising as it contains phosphorus, calcium and some nitrogen as well.

Compost01.jpg

Compost06.jpg

text16.png

Now it's time we go outside to the garden, to do some dirty work!

Prepare some soil that you have a home. Pour them on the top of all the wasted and cover them up. From what I learnt from Youtubers is that I'm supposed to cover the top with dried leaves, but since I don't have them, I just use newspaper to replace the dried leaves.

Compost09.jpg

Compost08.jpg

Compost10.jpg

Compost11.jpg

Compost12.jpg

Usually people will use compost bin to do all of this, but since I'm doing it on a small scale and using all the recyclable things I have at home, I just need to make sure I cover them up to retain moisture and heat.

I'm not sure if I'm doing it right because I have modified it with my own ways, but we will see after a week or two how it's going to turn out.

Will keep and update on its progress. After it's done, I'm going to use the soil for my batch of baby gingers sprouts.

Thank you and see you in my next post!

text16.png

All photos were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge.


Joe Steemit divider.jpg

Thank you for stopping by, this is a place where I can share the things I enjoy in life, art, gardening, nature, foods. This is why my divider above are filled with all the different kind of icons that I love doing. I hope you enjoy my post so far, leave me a comment if you like.
谢谢您的到访,这里是个我可以分享关于我所喜爱的生活,包括艺术,园艺,大自然,食物等等的地方。 这就是为什么我上面的页脚全都是我喜欢做的不同类型的图标。 我希望您喜欢我的帖子,如果您喜欢,不妨留下您的评语。

Proud Member of:

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Proud curator and editor of #cn-malaysia

mmexport1555574678226.jpg

Sort:  

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Composting on a super small scale; I love it! I’ve featured your post in the Homesteaders – Living Naturally newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you.

Me too. I mean I am curious about how it turns out. The small scale is good for experiments, so it shouldn't be a problem.

We'll see how it goes!

We do not have a garden here at the moment so do not do composting but growing up it was a daily thing taking leftovers and such out to our compost pile my dad was very big on it

That's great you already experienced it before.

Ohh yes I remember so well my dad explaining why we did it and his garden always produced the best Veges so I know he was right

I hope your weekend went well :)

No wonder you remember it well.
Hope you have a blessed week!

You to have a blessed week

👍🙂👍

You can literally just dig a hole in the garden and bury the scraps. They'll degrade on their own. They degrade faster if you aerate the soil occasionally though.
It looks from your images that you have the compostable materials separate from the dirt though. What you want to do is mix them up a bit, and cover them with a layer of dirt right on top. Then moisten the dirt & put something on top, like leaves, or newspaper. Also helps if you get some worms.

Thanks for the great advise @geekpowered! Will make another one base on your descriptions soon.

I don't have any land, all my plants are in tue pots. That's why I did it in a container.

You should be able to do it in a container still. Just should probably get worms, to speed it along so it doesn't smell. But, if it does, you can also just get a carbon filter. They're pretty cheap. My compost bin has one on the top.

If this experiment goes well, I plan to get myself a cheaper compost bin or I can diy something again. Thanks for letting me know there's such thing as a carbon filter. I have much to learn... Thanks again!

I like your instinct to try to recycle something! Just keep your eyes out & maybe you'll find a small container you can use that's a bit bigger than what you have!
Good luck!

Yup, I always find ways to reuse things around me, will keep an eye for sure.
Thanks!

I must say your presentation is just fascinating, great job for whole recycling DIY

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Thank you very much for your support!!!

Years ago, a girlfriend I was dating at the time and who composted everything, enlisted me to make her a bigger compost containment area outside, so animals couldn't get at it. She also enlisted me to set up these huge tanks she had gotten, for collecting rain water. Come to think of it, I sure did a lot of free work for that girl! LOL

Hahaha... Yes you did, and your hardwork is not wasted because you have help the mother earth, so good job!

Nice one. I think I could try this and give another chance for planting. Hopefully this time around my plants wouldn't by dying out on me again. Cheers!

Good luck to you!!!

This is neat. I don't have anywhere good to put it since my balcony opens up to my living room and bedroom.
I think you should put banana peels in there for potassium.

I did put in banana peels inside, and it was one of the main ingredients to do this compost. 😉

Sorry, I must have missed that part.
This will make a great compost for your plants.

No worries and thanks!

Really interesting, lets see how all these will turn out:) Will it be a mass of ground in the end?

I don't think so. Let's see what will happen.

Lets hope that no monster comes out of it,lol.

Haha... really hope not!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88