Chutney with green tomatoes, onions and apples – Chutney aus grünen Tomaten, Zwiebeln und ÄpfelnsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

At the end of summer there are always quite some green tomatoes left on the vines that won’t ripen any more. Don’t throw them away! Either take them into the house to ripen or use them for this delicious Chutney! It goes very well with cheese or ham, any dark meat or – as my oldest son likes it best – just on a piece of buttered bread :-)

Am Ende des Sommers hängen immer noch reichlich grüne Tomaten am Strauch, die einfach nicht mehr reif werden. Bitte werft sie nicht weg! Entweder ins Haus holen und sie dort nachreifen lassen, oder kocht daraus dieses leckere Chutney! Es schmeckt vorzüglich mit Käse oder Schinken, jeder Art von dunklem Fleisch oder – und so mag es mein ältester Sohn am liebsten – einfach auf einem Butterbrot :-)

These are the ingredients needed – I calculate on 1 kg green tomatoes, just recalculate if you have more: 1 kg green tomatoes, 375 g onions, 250 g apples, 300 ml applevinegar, 2-3 chilipeppers, 3 large cloves garlic, 15 g fresh ginger, 120 g raisons, 250 g brown sugar, 1 teaspoon salt (I forgot the salt on this photo… because I add it at very last minute lol)

Diese Zutaten werden benötigt – ich rechne auf 1 Kilo grüne Tomaten, einfach umrechnen, wenn ihr mehr habt: 1 kg grüne Tomaten, 375 g Zwiebeln, 250 g Äpfel, 300 ml Apfelessig, 2-3 Chilischoten, 3 große Knoblauchzehen, 15 g frischer Ingwer, 120 g Rohrzucker, 1 Teelöffel Salz (das Salz habe ich auf dem Foto vergessen… da ich es immer erst ganz zum Schluss hinzufüge lol)

Tomatoes, onions and apples go into the pot now as well as the apple vinegar – as you can see, I mixed in some red and purple tomatoes as well as a handfull of green bellpeppers… they were in my way in the kitchen – so, don’t hesitiate to be rather flexible while cooking ;-)

Tomaten, Zwiebeln und Äpfel in einen weiten Topf geben und den Essig dazu gießen – wie ihr sehen könnt, sind noch ein paar rote und lila Tomaten sowie eine handvoll grüne Paprika mit hineingewandert… die lagen mir in der Küche im Wege herum - zögert nicht etwas flexibel beim Kochen zu sein ;-)

While the pot is slowly cooking for the next 20 minutes (give it a stir once in a while), we’ll get the chili-garlic-ginger on the way – use as much as you like of these spices! If you rather have it mild, use less, if you like it HOT (like we do) use more…

Während es im Topf nun für die nächsten 20 Minuten langsam vor sich hin brodelt (hin und wieder mal umrühren), widmen wir uns der Chili-Knoblauch-Ingwer Mischung – wer es nicht so scharf mag nimmt weniger, wer es gerne richtig scharf bevorzugt (so wie wir) nimmt mehr…

This is the size we like it chopped – but you can also make it into a “creamy-mixture” :-)

Diese Stückchengröße mögen wir am liebsten – man kann es aber auch bis zu „cremig“ zerkleinern :-)

Now we take the raisons, brown sugar and our “HOT stuff”….

Nun nehmen wir die Rosinen, den Rohrzucker und die “Heiße Mischung”….

…and add it into the pot… stir until the sugar has evolved and then… keep stirring and cooking for about 40-50 minutes (depending on the consistency you like the chutney to have) ;-)

… und geben alles mit in den Topf… und rühren bis der Zucker sich aufgelöst hat und dann… weiterrühren und für etwa 40-50 Minuten kochen lassen (bis die gewünschte Konsistenz des Chutneys erreicht ist) ;-)

This is still far too liquid – keep stirring and cooking lol OH, and please add the salt!

Dies ist noch viel zu flüssig – weiter rühren und kochen lol OH, und bitte das Salz noch dazu!

Ah, see – now this looks just perfect! Now hopefully you have some twist-off lid glasses at hand… fill in the hot Chutney, close the lid tight and let it cool… make sure all the twist-off lids have gone down in their middle (hope you know what I mean…) … sealed… this will keep well in storage (without cooling) for 6-9 months – here it usually is eaten up well before this…

Ah, schaut – jetzt ist es perfekt! Nun habt ihr hoffentlich alle schon ein paar Twist-off-Deckel Gläser bereitstehen… das heiße Chutney hineinfüllen, den Deckel draufschrauben und abkühlen lassen… sichergehen, dass alle Deckel in der Mitte nach unten gegangen sind (hoffe ihr wisst, was ich meine) … also vakuumverschlossen… das Ganze hält sich (ohne Kühlung) etwa 6-9 Monate – hier ist es in der Regel weit vorher aufgegessen…

There was a tiny bit left in the pot – so hubby could have a first try :-) :-) He says it is the best ever…

Ein kleiner Rest war noch im Topf – also konnte Schatzemann direkt probieren :-) :-) Er meint es wäre das Beste überhaupt...

This recipe is dedicated to all of you but a very special dedication goes to @goldendawne! Hope you will like it just as much as we do!
Cheers from the Seven Mountains in Germany – hopefully many will take a like in this Chutney and use their green tomatoes this way!!

Herzliche Grüße aus dem Siebengebirge – hoffentlich finden viele von euch Gefallen an diesem Chutney und nutzen ihre grünen Tomaten auf diesem Wege!!

Sort:  

I tried this chutney today itself. It is amazing. Thanks for the knowledge.

awe - you are so welcome and I am so happy you liked it! as much as we do :-)

I have some green tomatoes left in the garden and this looks really good. I think I will try it! Thanks for posting the recipe.

Let me know how you like it!!! Glad you are going to try it out!!! :-)

Ok, I made it this morning and managed a taste before it was all jarred up! It's delicious! Next time I will add more peppers. Thanks again for the recipe 👌

oh, so glad you made some!!! this means so much to me, I can't even put it in words!!! Big hug to you :-)

Awww, it was my pleasure really! I'm always on the lookout for new canning recipes for things I haven't tried. I hate to see the garden coming to an end though. I will be canning dried beans soon!

So good to read this! But tell me, why are you canning the dried beans? I leave them as they are, put them into cloth-sacks/paper-sacks and then water them over night if I want to use them for a dish the next day....

Sometimes I don't remember to soak them overnight and it's just more convenient to have them ready when I want to use them. I like to add seasonings and sometimes a bit of ham or tomato sauce to the jars. But it does need to be pressure canned.

How does it taste? Like sweet relish? (I am not a big sweet relish fan)

But with so many green tomatoes left, I will try this one too!! @goldendawne's was a winner... good to hear @jkiw is also!!

I am excited!!!

It's more savoury than sweet. The ginger and peppers give it a nice kick! I will definitely make it again.

I certainly will!

Thanks for shareing your post

glad you liked it @alihasanrana

Nice, excellent post!
Keep it up!
Followed and upvoted.
Cheers :)

thank you @bitfixer999, glad you liked it!

This looks delicious and I will give it a try!! Want some right now on a piece of bread with butter :)

Maybe I can make some appear on your table through telepathy :-) Aber ich glaube du musst es selber kochen :-) It is soooooooo goooood!!!

That would be so great!!But I think too that I have to do it myself :(

very testy food

it surely is!

A jar of Chutney would not last long in my refrigerator. It looks delicious. Thanks for showing how you prepare it. greetings and blessings.

if you make many jars, they will last a couple of months :-) go for it! give it a try!

This looks amazing... great job @jkiw thank you for sharing your recipe... upvoting and following your blog now... cheers

thanks to you @evelynbelle for your comment - and let me know how you like the chutney!!!

great and tasty post. will definitely try it out :)

please do... I really hope so...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60812.47
ETH 2629.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62