I'm moving. Again. Again...

in #homesteading6 years ago

Sigh
This place was supposed to be the last move for a long time. I even told the landlord when I moved in I planned to be here no less than 4.5 years. It took forever to find this place because it had to be just perfect. Because Autism. My son has huge meltdowns when he hears sirens. I get punched. Shit gets broken.
This place wasn't perfect but it was quiet enough.
Then... and... long story short OK? lol My landlord wants to sell the house. I can't live somewhere knowing that at any moment the phone might ring giving me 30 days to get out. Plus, to add to the hell of that, ALL my ignorant neighbors burn their plastic trash. It makes me so ill.

Here's the short version of the rest of the story too... I lucked into an 8.7 acre piece of land with a 3 bedroom house on it for only $100 more than I am paying now. Closer to where I need to be for an easier life, geographically an other aspects as well :)

new house.jpg

So much potential!! That is an overgrown apple orchard at the bottom of the screen shot in need of pruning. I have zero knowhow and tools. lol I can't wait to expand from my 8 chickens to other poultry! Up first, Guineas! Ticks are soooo bad this year. I want ducks, too. I need to garden. Look at all that land! So overwhelming but I'm looking forward to figuring it all out.

Sort:  

After being on our property for almost 3 years, my advice is start small. Do a small garden so you can learn the particular quirks of your property. And only add one or two animals. You don't want to overwhelm yourself. Starting out with a small orchard is awesome. You're so lucky.

I keep reminding myself to start small. At the very least all I have to do it mow weekly. Just add one new task from there. :)

Congratulations @jennywebster! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jennywebster! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67