Seasons of Life

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Life has seasons. Lots of seasons.

Up seasons, downs seasons, seasons of pure joy and seasons of down right knock-ya-down sadness. There are seasons of lulls and seasons of bustles.

Just all kinds. And I am THANKFUL that none of them last.

Yes, I said none of them. Not even the good ones.

Wait, what?

Yeah. I have to admit that I am not in one of those golden good times right now. No. As a matter of fact we, as a family, have been going through a pretty harsh season.

I had decided last summer that we should sell our house.

CC5AAFFD-50FA-4CD1-8A97-494B286BD652.jpeg

It had 4.5 acres and a pond fully stocked with fish.

779621C3-14AD-4AEF-843C-BD993E87AFE2.jpeg

I just got the notion one day that we should sell our house and I thought it would take several months to sell... so “needed” to start soon.

F34F10A7-FDD7-4863-81C7-F38EBAA7B600.jpeg

... and so on a whim, I put photos of our home on Facebook.

Within 3 days of showing our home, we had a verbal buyer. By the weekend we had a written contract. It was a shock but we stuck to it.

Lesson: Don’t test the market unless you’re actually ready to make that commitment to move before the sign goes up!

I totally miss this home and the property.

Holy moly that was fast!! Now what??!!

We bought an RV to live in.. a Sierra 5th wheel.

499B63AF-3770-4D47-9BD2-347C10100DC1.jpeg

We decided to live in the RV while we search for our new chapter of this book I decided to write for our family. After all, doesn’t it give you freedom to move about?

Problem is... I kinda began to illustrate the book before the story. So about this time it seems I set myself into permanent panic mode.

We rented a 1/2 acre to park the RV and we set up for a while, still staying in Texas. Phillip had a job there and we hadn’t found any land in Arkansas yet.

In July, my husband (@beardo) lost his job.
We certainly were not expecting that loss. ...

Panic mode. Nowwwww what?!

At this point, My family notified me of my Dad being ill and in the hospital. He was a 2 time open heart bypass patient... and now he had an aortic aneurysm, and also needed kidney surgery due to very large stones. He was not in good shape at all.

Then Mother Nature.

Hurricane Harvey decided to threaten all of Texas. So, we decided to go stay at my Dads during the hurricane. They needed some watchful eyes to make sure he was ok and I would get some quality time with my Dad. I am admittedly a Daddy’s Girl.

D4BB9FDA-F184-425D-AC18-3F3C83478909.jpeg

Our RV was taken to the RV repair shop for some warranty work while we were away and we were told it would be 3 weeks before it would be ready.

It ended up being much longer than that because the hurricane prevented us from picking it back up. We had to wait much longer.
But once we returned, the property manager had bulldozed the lot we were staying on, crushing the septic tank and making it unable to stay there. We needed to park our RV somewhere else.

Where? We were not prepared nor had we planned on this event.

By the way ... the home we sold? Totally flooded... 5 feet of water inside the house. The property had never flooded to our knowledge before the hurricane. I suddenly didn’t miss it as much....

Some friends of ours purchased some land and a home.. @dwells and @essentialoilmom
And invited us to park our RV on their property until we could get on our feet and find out own property.

So we moved our RV from Southeast Texas to Northwest Arkansas.

We are so very thankful for our friends to allow us this privilege. I also know it’s a blessing. But... I also know it’s a season.

@beardo finally was able to accept a contract job in Olive Branch, Mississippi.

Hu?!

Didn’t i just say we were in NorthWest Arkansas?

Yes.

sigh

So @beardo travels to Mississippi during the week, and comes home on the weekend.

Season. It’s just a season.

That’s what I keep telling myself. It will all even out ... eventually, right?

In the meantime, while we get back on our feet.. look for our forever place to plant our family, we are counting our blessings to have such friends who will help us like @dwells and his family have.

They’ve even allowed us to put our horse, Ace, in their pasture.

41DACCE6-90A4-4E12-9167-CC5F2727E793.jpeg

We will help them this spring plant their garden and put up a fence for their future homesteading animals.

I don’t know what season is next. I just know it’s coming.

@jeejee

Sort:  

Yep! It's just a season. Everything is a season!

And I’m quite thankful 😬
@jeejee

Just keep going and yes, nothing last forever. THANKS!

Just keep swimming, eh? It’s better than drowning for sure!
@jeejee

Sounds like you all have been on a journey, hope to see you all soon! Shalom

Definitely. Would love to see you guys again, Hopefully Soon!
@jeejee

Just keep swimming!! As the heat gets turned up we look for glimmers of gold as the dross burns off! YHVH bless yall and give yall HIS Shalom!!

Thank you ... you guys are an inspiration 👍
@jeejee

Ahh Yes, seasons indeed. Here's hoping for a brighter spring for you and your family... <3

Good job staying strong and positive for your family!

While you are on a land search I wanted to tell you about a website I love to use when searching for land (maybe you already know it?). IMO It is a great tool! Looks like theres lots of listings too!

Landwatch.com

@schoonecreek

Ahhhh, I forgot about lanwatch .com ! I’ll have to get back to using it.
Here In the rural areas, realtors aren’t always used so we got into the habit of just looking and asking around. But I’ll hop back over to that website and check in again! Thanks for the reminder ❤️
@jeejee

And thank you for the well wishes too 👍💙👍

@jeejee I'm grateful that you are here. It's a blessing for us too! I love you girlie!

Give, and it shall be given to you. A good measure, pressed down and shaken together and running over shall be put into your lap. For with the same measure with which you measure, it shall be measured back to you.
Luqas (Luke) 6:38 TS2009

I pray it is returned unto you many more times over
@jeejee

It s just a season :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49