Adding A Torpedo Level To An Electric Chainsaw

in #homesteading5 years ago

For several years now I have been looking at 120 volt AC electric chainsaws to use when I am doing construction with round wood (specifically black locust and tulip poplar) because I often find gasoline chainsaws are bulky, noisy, heavy, hard to make square/plumb cuts with and requires fuel to boot. My compromise has often been to use a circular saw instead which works well enough with small diameter material but it leaves much to be desired for cutting larger diameter material.

Recently I found a pretty good deal on a refurbished electric chainsaw directly from the manufacturer and since I have been building a lot lately and trying to get a shelter completed before the winter I decided to purchase it and see how it performed. This article is by no means a review of the chainsaw itself but suffice it to say that I am absolutely happy with how it performs, it's overall construction, it's light weight design, it's ease of use and mostly it's ability to make precision cuts.

As soon as I pulled it out of the box that it was shipped in I realized that it would be incredibly handy if it had a torpedo level attached to it so that when I am cutting with it I can see if the chainsaw is being held plumb and level so that my cuts in turn come out plump/level. Fortunately the design of the chainsaw itself made attaching a torpedo level rather simple and after now using it for a few weeks I am very happy with the outcome and thought to share what I did here on Steemit.

IMAG5266.jpg

This is how the chainsaw looks after installing the torpedo level.

IMAG5256.jpg

This is the torpedo level that I used.

IMAG5258.jpg

I held the torpedo level in place so that the part that extends below the handle acts as a 'leg' to make the chainsaw itself rest level when sitting on a flat surface.

IMAG5379.jpg

I used some eight inch zip-ties to attach the torpedo level but smaller or larger ones would work as well.

IMAG5264.jpg

This is how I attached the torpedo level to the side of the handle with the zip-ties. I later trimmed off the excess zip-tie material.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

That's a great idea! I have been wanting to buy a battery powered rechargeable chainsaw to use for cutting blackberry canes after the goats are done with them. It would absolutely have to be lightweight because I would be holding it for a long time. How much does yours weigh?

Good morning @goat-girlz! The one that I have is a corded chainsaw (Worx WG305) with a fourteen inch bar that weighs 6.25 pounds. I have been drooling over the battery operated ones but they are outside of my budget at the moment. The cordless chainsaws by Milwaukee seem to have the best reviews from what I have heard but I like the DeWalt ones because I mostly have cordless DeWalt tools.

Thanks for your continued commitment to Steem and for onboarding your friends Jacob!

You are welcome and I love Steemit @justinw! I am slowly getting more folks interested in using the platform and recently got @freemotherearth, @aurynthenorse and @cassidydawn all setup and using it. We are enjoying being Steem addicts together! The account creation process was a bit too cumbersome so I have been making accounts for folks with SteemConnect which is much faster and seems to work very well.

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! Your post was featured on our daily build newsletter! We set you as a %15 beneficiary of our newsletter rewards.

Keep sharing your awesome DIY and How-to tutorials together with the recommended tags.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63001.43
ETH 3365.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45