First Time Growing Papalo in our Garden Part Two

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Papalo Has Grown Large!

Last month, I posted that our papalo seeds had sprouted. The plant was so tiny, a step in the wrong place would destroy them.


Photo from last month.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@ironshield/first-time-growing-papalo-in-our-garden

Now the papalo has grown and we had a chance to taste it for the first time. These were generously given to us by @mericanhomestead as a Crockett Patron and we were careful to plant them this year.

Papalo is described as a substitute for cilantro, but it grows bigger and does not go to seed the same way. I tasted it and would describe the taste like cilantro/green pepper flavored. Not exactly the same as cilantro, but if this were on tacos or in a soup, I wouldn't know the difference!

The leaves are a beautiful green and much larger than cilantro. A fine addition to our herb garden.

At Least One Sorghum is Growing

We planted the sorghum along the fence and our raspberries are taking over. If you look closely, the fountain leaves are Sorghum, growing up through the raspberries.

If I didn't know better, I would have plucked it up like a rouge grass blade! Thankfully I knew were we planted the sorghum.

@ironshield


SmartCashSXJLtozyeJeCxYMd5ckXU2rGHGjAwUePMa
Bitcoin14USVaf7cnCZzMtvFaqGuSXdKcVq4pFHzf
LitecoinLPRHooiVYgvM6Jp7jsDYhcvXeTB2qnBfk9
Ethereum0xAd1E93433DD92d07425ADa83d9192d6bD1ee08e0
Bitsharesir0nshield <----with a "zero" for an "o"

ALL PHOTOS ORIGINAL TO THE AUTHOR UNLESS OTHERWISE SPECIFIED.


Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of four wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Steemit enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

Do you want to learn how to format your Steemit posts?


Make your steemit posts more appealing! Check out the course by @sumatranate on markdown and learn how to make your Steemit posts stand out. Check it out here.

Sort:  

You just got hammered, thanks for paying it forward.

Thanks silver-hammer! @ironshield

Never heard of papalo. Do you eat it fresh or cooked, as you would cilantro? I love cilantro. I don't think I'd want to substitute but I am always keen to add to my herb gardens.I wonder if the seeds are like cilantro seed? The plant seems pretty hardy

We're still learning about how to use papalo, we're going to try to use it the same way we'd use cilantro. The flavor is a little different, but pretty close. @ironshield

I'm going to try and get some here. I wonder if it has the same healing properties as cilantro? It's an incredible heavy metal detoxer

The seeds actually remind me of milkweed or dandelion - they look like they're intended to fly on the wind instead of being big and heavy like cilantro. I don't think you could use them as their own spice like you can coriander.

You can eat it just like you would cilantro - put it in soup or salsa, etc. It's great to have because our cilantro keeps bolting before I can really use it, so we get coriander but no cilantro...

My cilantro bolts often as well. Although we have plenty babies coming up. I love the fresh leaves in a salad. Actually my favourite salad is a herb salad. With a lot of cilantro (we call it coriander), oregano and arugala (we call it rocket) I use the coriander seeds to spice our sausage. Also what I think you call bully beef? Air dried spiced pieces of steak. It's delicious. But both need a lot of the coriander spice

Been listening to Zac talk about the papalo for a while now and now you're growing it with success. Maybe next year I should try to grow it!

We received the seeds last year, but didn't grow them. This year we decided to give them a try. It was fun tasting them for the first time. Hoping for lot's of sorghum seeds later this year! @ironshield

We'll also have to see if we live to regret planting it in the garden - we read Zac's advice not to do so AFTER we'd already planted it.

You have to be kidding, I have about 10 Pápalo plants in my garden 😆

My daughter LOVES pápalo and already ate most of it 😆😆

That's great, look at those beautiful plants. @ironshield

Wow, that looks a lot different than the plant we have!

It just came out about four days ago. This plant grows (at least in my garden), about 6 to 7 ft tall.
Watch out 😊

Those cane plants don't look like mine. They should look like corn plants.

It would be funny if it turns out it's just a grass blade. LOL. I'm pretty sure it's what we planted, it might look more identifiable once it gets bigger. We'll see! @ironshield

Papalo is one I will have to try. Finish the move first, then garden, LOL Good to see this spreading.

Moving is always very disruptive. Once you get settled, it will be time to garden. @ironshield

It will be time, and past time! I plan to build a Walipini so I can grow food all the time. Paying cash for everything has slowed me down, but I have the land and the house now, and have started the house mods for her wheelchair.

I have most of the hardware purchased for the Solar system already. It is currently on grid, but I will take it off grid as soon as I can assemble all the components.

howdy there @ironshield! so you DO have a Green Thumb after all!
hey these plants look tremendously healthy, they might be too healthy to eat!
no actually they look tasty and I bet they are. great photos!

I have to give the credit to my wife @lturner, she's been very carefully watering the garden, otherwise it would melt in the sun. @ironshield

"melt in the sun" lol have ya'll ever been to Texas in the summertime? lol

well she does a great job on that garden because it's a beautiful thing to behold.

lol...more like burn to a crisp.

giphy (51).gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 7000 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

    How To Use SmartCash?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34