Another 2019 Intention will be a London Herbal Plot

in #homesteading5 years ago

Contemplating my stay here in the Philippines as the end of my sabbatical leave draws near, a continuity of what I want to do that's akin to a food/herbal forest would be a plot on top of our residential building. Even before, i've wanted one, but my travels sort of dissuade me from actually doing it. Suffice to say, the porch was the recipient of veggie pots for my friend(the house owner) and me. She wanted flowers, i had a few veggies. Including a failed attempt to grow a moringa tree from a tiny branch I brought with me from the Philippines. Oh and sweet potato.

Chatting with my friend a couple of days back, it was sort of agreed for us to get one come spring. It won't be a food forest, but I can grow some herbs and veggies. At least the anticipation is there and come March, it will just be a matter of buying seeds.

Although not noticeable, some of those branches have baby leaves sprouting in some areas. The first photo is from the main trunk that my brother cut where it's leaning to the wall.

With regards to my 2019 health intentions while in the country, these are the few more moringa branches that i need to plant and see if all will thrive during my stay. Apparently for moringa, it doesn't need to be watered frequently. Where our old one is located, it's the driest part in the garden. But then it's covered with sawdust and chips so it's not totally dry.

Perhaps next time i'll come home, our food/medicinal forest will be functional. Another thing to look forward to later in the year.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hey those green shoots are sprouting like hope and look pretty refreshing and hope you do take the idea to make it a reality?
If you travel a lot you can set up a little drip irrigation system for them to get watered while you are away.

Some of these i have already planted as i am in the philippines. They will be ok. what i meant was the herbal plot that i wanted to have in london☺
That drip idea is a good one..perhaps i'll do it like that. Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's really exciting!! There really is nothing more rewarding than reaping the rewards of home grown produce!

Jaynie!!!! How's you girl? Yeah definitely, there's nothin like it. Plus a huge step to sustainability☺

Posted using Partiko Android

I am really well thanks and you? :) And also enjoying the produce from my garden a lot lately too as we are in the middle of Summer! So do you have any specific plans for "what" you will be planting?

Am cool..about to finish my sabbatical leave. While am in the Philippines, a food forest is in the making plus moringa like about 10 of them. We got Muntingia culabura sprouting everywhere so that's food and medicine at the same time.
In London come April will probably herbs and veggies, the easy ones till i make plans like tomatoes, eggplants etc😍😍. It's a small plot so it'll be interesting.

Sometimes growing in small spaces, though challenging is even more rewarding! At the moment I have so many tomatoes I don't know what to do with them all, its wonderful!!! And they taste so much better than bought ones!

Good luck with the green finger adventures!!! :)

Oh wow!What sort of tomatoes do you have?It's like 2x3m size so it's gonna be compact but i dont mind if i only have tomatoes.Will have fun surely.Any plans to have other stuff jaynie?

Posted using Partiko Android

All my tomatoes are baby Italian tomatoes and I also have a few "black tomatoes" which was something I only learned about recently. That space is not that small - most of my gardening id done in pots because my "actual garden" is all in shade area and although I have tried many times to grow things there, I have yet to be successful so this season I did everything in pots and moved them to the front of our house which is lovely and sunny. I mostly have tomatoes haha - and then pretty much all herbs. Cant really grow much in the line of veg in pots... but even being able to cook with a wide variety of herbs is wonderful!

What a joy to harvest outside your door and directly cook them😍😗 though i can't cook haha
You got the black ones? the yellows taste great too as ive tried both in france...taste good on their own wow.Lucky you!
Most plants need the sunlight☺

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @immarojas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.116 which ranks you at #958 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97