My tomatoes are dying, any chance to save them?

Hello guys,

I think this journey is coming to an end, my tomatoes are dying, probably from the cold nights that we are having here.
There is a lesson to be learned here, I should have build a greenhouse.

I have read that I should remove the bad ones and move the others in some containers away from the cold.
Or I should cover the plants with some sheets of fabric while in the ground.

Which method would work best?

IMG_20170920_091233463.jpg
IMG_20170930_112514740.jpg
IMG_20170930_112635003.jpg

Sort:  

i would definately remove the damaged fruit asap and hope the others recover

Now I'm no expert when it comes to gardening and homesteading, but who you gonna call when your tomatoes are dying? @papa-pepper! I would be surprised if I replies to this

I'm not an expert, but It looks like problem with the roots of the plants.
There are few possibilities, try to exmine the roots and soil for visible signs of infection.

What do you mean save them? Do you want to over winter them? Get the fruit to ripen? What is your end goal?

Sorry for the misunderstanding, I would like the fruit to ripen.

Thank you for taking the time to reply!
I will do that asap!

Do you know what suckers are?

didn't knew what you were referring to so I googled it.
https://www.thespruce.com/what-are-suckers-3269560


mother in law told me about those, about branches that just steal energy and nutrients from the main plant.

We cut the branches that didn't had any flowers.

Tank a spade and plunge it into the soil about 6 inches deep and 1 foot away from the plant, one one side. Also, pull off all the suckers

Where are you located? Just curious.

In the United Kingdon, England since late 2013.

This post received a 1.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @tobecin! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!