Happy Chicken Waterer - No More Dirty Water for the Ladies

in #homesteading6 years ago


With homesteading, you can't really go on vacation. Sure you can go on a road trip but you have to be back home by dark and collect eggs.

Going on a solo vacation is out of the question. We all go as a family.

Another option is if you have a really good neighbor to keep an eye on your homestead while you're out.

Hassle-less Waterer

We're wasting water cleaning the ladies' waterer. You clean it and not a minute after, they sling dirt on it.

They're giving us the impression that they don't like clean water. Because when we clean the waterer, they prefer drinking out of the muddy puddle.

This new design I made ends the wastefulness and hassle of carrying 2 gallons every morning.
screenshot.jpg

Design

We don't have a lot of flat areas in our homestead. I flattened out a spot where the water tank is with the Kubota. The plan is have the waterer high up then gravity feed the waterer.

Put an air valve to allow the water to fill the waterer without having to bleed the air by hand.

Material List

1- 10' 3" PVC
2 - 3" caps
1 - 3" to 1 1/2" T
1 - 1 1/2" T
1 - 1 1/2" reducer to threaded 3/4
2 - 3/4" hose couplings (3/4 male threads to rippled sleeve)
2 - hose clamps
8 - chicken waterer nipples
1 - 1 1/2" cap
1 - 50' hose
1 - 1100-gal water tank
1 - 2" male threaded reducer to to 3/4" coupling
2 - 3/4" male threaded couplings
1 - ball gate valve with 3/4 female
1 - 4" piece of 3/4 PVC


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

My father was in the poultry business when I was really young. I remember watching eggs go by on the conveyor in front of the light bulb. I remember his story about making egg deliveries from the farm to Chicago where the Chicago cops would shake him down for several dozen eggs to be allowed to deliver inside the city limits. He said before he arrived in the city, he would always put the oldest eggs on top and when the cops would stop him, he would give them the more stale eggs leaving the freshest eggs for paying customers. Live and learn he use to say!

That's a great story. How many chickens did you pop raise? Did you grow up on the farm? What things were going on at that farm would be a good post for you.

Live and learn. If we could only stop following our hearts and follow our experience.

Will upvote you when I get some sp back up Im like 76 percent and that is .01 when it gets to 100 its almost .03 lol

If I remember correctly, he had about 500. I was just a young boy but I can remember many and it is only a guesstimate. He had space on grandfathers place but we lived in town... a small farming community of 550 people. I cannot remember much more than watching the chickens from the front seat of my dad's truck and sitting on a chair at the egg conveyor looking for bad eggs. I was too young to go on deliveries to the big city some 90 miles away. No problem with the U/V as I tend to run low sometimes myself.

StanIAm, do you have green eggs and ham? lol, j/k.

I have seen a similar settup in my friends Chicken pen. They are great and work very well. But you will want to protect the PVC somehow or it gets brittle in the sunlight!

Thanks for sharing!
<3

I will probably build a shade of some kind over it eventually but schedule 40 pvc is on most peoples roofs for years and years as the vent pipe from the sewer systems and drain pipes. I dont think it gets brittle in the sun at all. This material is about 10 years old and spent two years outside before I built anything with it. Its like new in my opinion. Maybe you are talking about a different grade of PVC.

Probably anything that is not Sched 40.

I just went outside and looked at the pipe it clearly says sch 40 on the pipe. But I didn't notice it before and it says it not intended for high pressure. The pressure is pretty strong from that gravity system I built.

But if you are saying that anything that is not sch 40 it will rot you are 100 percent right. It will crumble like egg shells after some time.

I used sched 40 for lawn irrigation systems and it will sustain high pressure. Sched 20 is crap and is okay for drain systems underground.

oh, that could be. I don't know any of the specs myself. So you are probably good then! :-)
<3

I was raising chickens about 3 years ago and have been contemplating starting it up again. Love your system; simple and practical.

Thanks it is working great. The ladies love and I love it too. No I can sleep in every morning. It has incredible pressure we had to clean out one of the nipples and when we released it the water gushed with extreme pressure. We are pleasantly surprised with our results.

Great chicken watering system!

It is working great. What do you grow on your place?

Great homemade waterer! Good job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51