Preparing fence Line for Food Production - Grow Food on fences!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Where we are located in Hawaii receives on avg upwards of 250"+ rain per year. Due to this amount of rain fall managing fence lines can be costly if one chooses not to use herbicides. The grasses can over grow them in a matter of a few weeks.

IMG_4681.JPG

Cardboard prevents the grasses from coming up through the mulch. I pick up cardboard from a few local businesses regularly. It's essentially free weed mat that will eventually break down into soil and turn into food.
IMG_3496.JPG


Due to the amount of flora growth the County of Hawaii provides a free green waste and mulch service. If you pick it up you can have as much as you want! Its my favorite way to add organic matter to soils.
IMG_1703.JPG


Follow me to see what we plant and watch the development of our food forest in Hawaii
Aloha !

Sort:  

We were in Hawaii once at a Bed and Breakfast. My wife asked the host how she kept things grow so well. The Host said it's not a matter of getting thing to grow in Hawaii, it more a matter of hacking thing back.

Yes! That is certainly the truth

can't wait to see what sorts of delicious fruits will be resting on that fence in the future!

Turmeric, passion fruit vines, cassava, sweat potatoes, chayote some hibiscus and maybe a few moringa in this section

Great post! I've been utilizing fences this year for growing beans 🌱

Ah! great! I have plans for some passion fruit vines, cassava(tapioca), chayote, sweatpotatos, and turmeric in this section. The next section of fence I do will be bean Alley! Aloha

👍🏻 I hope to grow turmeric next year!

Free green waste and mulch! I'd be on that like a shot. Kia ora from New Zealand. :)

Sounds like we would get along great! Blake from Big Island Hawaii! I have dreams of visiting your country one day soon. Aloha

I'm not sure how many 100's of kgs of organic matter I've brought on site already. The area where we live in NZ is very volcanic (much like where you are probably) because we are right on top of a super volcano. The soil is mostly pumice dust. :( Great for drainage though. :) I've started offering to neighbours and friends that they can bring their green waste to us rather than pay the petrol and dumping cost of going to the rubbish tip. Little by little I'm making some tasty soil for all the worms and plants.

Wow! yes Building soil on the Lava, i know this process well. You're a real super hero, I'm sure you are aware generations to come will benefit from your work, long after we're both gone

I certainly hope so. Generations of trees, plants, insects, birds and other living things big and small. My only concern is that we live on a rented property. So maybe it won't be our children who get the benefits. Still, labour is love and all that. :) Wench has been to Hawaii many years ago. We hope to travel again as a family. Maybe add another 20 countries to our combined list. 40 out of 196. Not that many really. And oor wee pirate in training has seen precious little of just the one we currently call home.

I look forward to more homesteading from Hawaii, @iamblake.

Thanks for Following. You have some interesting content yourself. I'll have to spend some time reading through your posts. I look forward to reading How to Post-Market Your Blog Post - Nobody Likes to Earn Pennies for Hard Work!

Good to meet you.

Thank you aceh. That means a lot coming from my new friend across the world

New follower here...were in florida and I think we may be on track to get 250"of rain this year too!.. LOL. Cant wait to see more of Hawaii, upvoted and resteemed!

Thanks for following! I will be posting updates- many of which will be very applicable in your area being subtropical.

This is fantastic. Thank you. I have been flooded with rain this year and this is uncharacteristic for our Region. Now I can have hope that if this is a growing trend I will do exactly what you are doing. Thanks

I can'twait to see what gardening in Hawaii is like. Do you grow noni? I've been drinking noni juice for years. Great stuff.

Congratulations @iamblake! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61890.63
ETH 3411.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50