Three methods for off-grid lighting in our homesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

IMG_20171109_072025 (2).jpg

Lights always seem to be a concern for those thinking about deciding to move off-grid. The other big question is what about refrigeration, but that is for another day.

Let me share with you what we do for light. Often overlooked is windows. We have a 640 square foot house and we have ten windows for lighting during the day and open the windows for air in warm weather.

Secondly, at night we use kerosene lamps. Frankly, we like the mellow light rather than electric lights or a propane lantern. Candles are also used, but not often. For convenience in the bathroom, we have a battery lantern. I must admit that it is nice being able to flip a switch for light. The lantern is only used for a few minutes at a time so the batteries last for two to three months. The other light we use is a solar lantern which Joann hangs above the kitchen sink when she does dishes.

Kerosene lanterns are our primary light source.

IMG_20171107_141024 (2).jpg

A battery lantern for light in the bathroom

IMG_20171107_141107 (2).jpg

Solar lantern for light above the kitchen sink

IMG_20171103_070122.jpg

I must confess that we do have solar power for our home, but turning on lights at night draws power from the batteries unnecessarily.

Thanks for reading and up voting.

Our “An American Homestead” family on Steemit:
Grandpa and Grandma: @hansjugen
Daughter, son-in-law: @mericanhomestead
Grandson #1: @thehomeschoolkid
Grandson #2: Someday

For more articles and videos on off-grid homesteading and on-line store visit https://anamericanhomestead.com/ also
https://www.patreon.com/AnAmericanHomestead

Sort:  

How often do you have to go and get kerosene? That is not something that is as readily available like it used to be.

I buy our kerosene at Lowe's but Walmart also stocks it in gallon containers. We use 12-5 gallons a year, mostly in the winter.

How much solar do you have for your house and what do you use it for?

We generate 750 watts. It is primarily used for our freezer to make ice, the sewing machine, and charge my computer.

What size freezer?

It is 7.0 cu ft and draws 1.4 starting amps.

CPU or laptop?

What kind of power is drawn from a lap top verses a CPU?

I'm new, I've followed you, please follow me

Are the kerosene lamps cheaper to use then the propane?
Thanks,

Yes. Lamps are about $7 at Walmart and kerosene is $9/gallon. We use 12-15 gal a year mostly in the winter.

That's really good value!
Are you guys at all concerned about fire risk due to the lamps? I guess the candles are probably more concern as kerosene will generally drown the fire if the lamp gets tipped over (I think?) but they get pretty hot, don't they?

Nice work. It kinda nice to have a more ambient light I feel. I often just have a lamp on as I fin the lights far to bright. So living off grid with torches like this I could cope with I think. Thanks for sharing. Following for some more inspiration for when I make to move to off grid, soon I hope :)

I've gotten very creative with my off-grid lighting as well. Though I'm the opposite of you. I use my rechargeable lantern predominately and my kerosene lamps the least. I also have four huge dogs rough housing in the house, so a fire risk is always there if I don't hang them.

You can see one of our mirror walls on the other side of the couch!
We bought our house from a guy who had the opportunity to rebuild after he lost his house to a chimney fire. He decided that he had enough of living in the dark and he installed very large mirrors throughout the house. They both make the place look a lot larger, and more importantly reflect light back into the room very well. They can be confusing. Pretty much every dog or cat we own has freaked out when they're first adopted. Come to think of it, a few guests have too!

I really like that idea. I have several mirrors. Maybe I can place them together for a really cool effect and much needed light.

Hello! I had no idea that you and Joanne had a Steemit account also! We just started ours recently, but it's slow going for the lack of internet and phone signal at the homestead! We're in town now so I was able to make my second post this morning. This is a great post about off-grid lighting because it can certainly become a challenge having enough light, especially this time of year!
Anyway, I guess you may not know who this is but we're local and we had the pleasure of joining you all for this past Sukkot. I hope all is well, and if you all ever need any help with anything Joanne has our phone number.

I have a solar outdoor security light that I just love!