Our Background

image

In 2010, a month before my wedding I was laid off from my teaching job due to budget cuts needing to be made due to the recession. After looking for two years and not being able to get another teaching position, my wife and I moved to China. We were there for four years.
In the spring of 2016 I was able to get hired as a teacher in my wife's hometown. We moved back with our two children (both born in China) and have made arrangements to stay on my inlaws property until we can find our own. Our "homestead" will be a patch of land on my inlaws 140 acre property.
image
Over the next few months I will develop the property so we can move a trailer onto the property. I am using this experience for training. My family would eventually like to have our own similar type property.

Let's see what happens.

Sort:  

Thanks for the backstory. Did you become fluent in Mandarin while in China?

Good luck with the new homestead project.

我会写中文一点儿

Wishing you great success with your homestead.
We were hit by the 2008, recession too. It was difficult and that really kicked me into gear to watch money and become more self-reliant.

Congratulations @habzhomestead! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @habzhomestead! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51