Sort:  

That's supercool and I know it will work. Perfect metal for it.

At that time I did not believe it but after I tried it turned out to work. You've done it before ?

Yes but with a metal rasp. The easy thing about that is that it already has a handle :D

but must be burned for completion. it's probably the hardest thing I do.

It's already hardened so no need. Just use an angle grinder to grind a edge on the rasp and keep spraying it with water so it doesn't get hot.
I don't know how to properly harden steel so I didn't wanna lose the temper.

Guys check this article out. http://www.anvilfire.com/article.php?bodyName=/FAQs/heattreating.htm

Also note that Anvil fire is an awesome site for learning how to work metal and a resource that I have used for years. The other guide is a Machinerys handbook that was published before ww2 as it still had blacksmithing information in it. I want to say 12th edition and earlier.

How I temper steel that I know is high carbon. Knives made from files, saw blades and rail spikes. I heat the entire piece in a forge until it is nonmagnetic. Then depending on the type of steel. ( anvilfire has charts ) either quench in used motor oil or a water borax solution.

After the metal is hardened and allowed to relax to room temprature I use either a toaster oven for small pieces or the oven in the house ( with water quenched steel) to bake it at about 550 to 600 degrees for 2+ hours.

When it is done baking turn off the oven and allow it to cool naturally and slowly. Either by sticking in a sand bucket or just letting the temp drop by turning off the oven.

I will read it looks interesting

I only use 1 tool. later I make a post about it. I invite you to see my post. thank you for sharing my experience with me

Will do, I am interested to see how you finish it out. and with that much saw steel left you can make a couple knives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56215.99
ETH 2973.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27