You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wanna Buy My House for Steem or Bitcoin?

in #homesteading7 years ago

I'd maybe try and post some flyers up around U of I campus. Maybe put an ad on Craigslist. I wonder if you'd have to pay a capital gains tax if you sold it for crypto?

Sort:  

Yep, I've been doing craigslist and local papers,good suggestions. I may have to try flyers at the campus if people stop calling when I list it. I've had plenty of interest and tours and offers, my bottleneck has been the buyer getting approved by the park office. They're being really picky about employment history and late payments, apparently. It'll happen any day now, just a run of bad luck.

I hadn't considered a capital gains tax, interesting. I wouldn't think I'd have to pay it since it's a sale of a property and I'd have the records to show that. And I'll be turning it into dollars, not holding onto it. If you bought a bitcoin at $3000 and turned it back into cash at $5000, that would seem like a taxable capital gain. Just a guess.

Yeah I think with most property sales you can get out of capital gains if you do a 1031 exchange, however I think this only applies if its a rental property or an investment. If it's your main residence than no, you should be just fine. Best of luck, you'll be on your homestead soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59096.52
ETH 2516.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46